Skip to Main Content

EndNote: Exporting References from Databases

All your EndNote questions answered

Exporting from Databases

 

Many academic databases allow you directly export references to EndNote. Instructions on how to do this for various databases are provided below.

Once downloaded, the citation should automatically download into EndNote, or (if using Chrome, or on a Mac) into your downloads folder; you will then need to open this file. This works best if your EndNote library is already open, but if EndNote isn't already open it will open automatically.

Make sure you double check all imported references to make sure they are formatted correctly!!! This is an extremely important part of the process as imported references are often not 100% accurate (you'll sometimes need to correct for missing years, titles all in upper case, missing journal volume, issue or page numbers, etc). Any uncorrected errors will show up later in all your reference lists!

Exporting from the Library Catalogue

 

The Library Catalogue has an option to export to RIS.

1. When you look up a book or article in our catalogue. Click on the title.
2. You should see a list of export options listed under a heading named Cite or Save. Click the Export RIS button

Export RIS

3. A pop up window will open saying 'encoding'. Click the blue Download heading under in the pop up box.

4. An RIS file will download from your web browser.

Export RIS from Library Catalogue

5. Click on the RIS file. Your reference should then open in EndNote.

6. If you are using a Mac and the file doesn't automatically open, refer to the gallery below to see the method required make it open automatically in future.

Alternatively, you can download the UTS Library connection file to search the library catalogue within EndNote: Instructions on how to do this can be found in the PDF linked below.

Opening RIS and ENW files on a Mac

Right click>open with

Opening RIS and ENW files on a Mac

Find the .RIS, .ENW, or similar file in your downloads folder

 

Then choose other from the menu

After right clicking, choose Other from the menu

Select EndNote in applications, check always open with bnox, press. continue

Find EndNote from your list of applications and select it,. Then, check the 'Always Open With' button and press 'Open'

Downloaded reference in EndNote

The reference should now open in EndNote (you may be required to select an EndNote library first)

Exporting from Google Scholar

 

To export from Google Scholar, first press the cite button beneath the reference you are interested in.

Press cite button

You will then be presented with 4 options for exporting to software. Both EndNote and RefMan work, but you will tend to be better quality data using the RefMan option

Choose Refman

Depending on your browser, the reference will either open automatically in EndNote, or go into your downloads folder. If it goes into your downloads folder open the file to import the reference to EndNote

Imported reference in EndNote

Exporting from Library Databases

 

We've created a PDF guide showing you how to download references from 19 different databases, including Ebsco, Proquest, Informit, Taylor and Francis, Hein Online and many more.

Downloading Large Amounts of Records for a Systematic Review

 

We've also made a PDF guide showing you how to download large amounts of records from medical databases for the purposes of conducting a systematic review. Included in the guide are instructions for Cochrane Library, Ebsco, Embase, Informit, OVID, Proquest, PubMed, Scopus and Web of Science.

Exporting from Reading Lists in Canvas

 

To export a list of readings in a Reading List module in Canvas, first go to the Collection area in Reading Lists

Collection

Select the readings you'd like to export by checking the boxes on the left, or tick the topmost box (pictured) to select all. Then click the ellipses icon at the top left of screen and select Export

Ellipses > Export

Then choose To RIS from the drop down menu.

To RIS

An RIS file will be created. Open the file to import the references into EndNote

Exporting from Factiva

 

Exporting from Factiva to EndNote requires you to complete a few different steps, so we've created a PDF guide showing you how. This process requires the use of a Factiva filter, also provided below.