Finding Full Text
Find Full Text searches UTS Library databases (and the web more generally) for PDFs of the articles in your EndNote library. You are restricted to searching for 250 full text records at a time.
Setting Find Full Text Preferences
- Select Edit (EndNote on a Mac) > Preferences > Find Full Text
- Select Find Full Text from the list of preferences on the left of the preferences window.
- In the Open URL Path box, type or copy:
- NOTE: For users of EndNote version 20.3 or higher, use this url in the Open URL Path box for better results: https://uts.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/61UTS_INST/
- In the Authenticate with URL box type or copy: https://login.lib.uts.edu.au/
- The Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references box can be left off if you want the fastest performance for EndNote and your computer.
- Click OK to save
Running Find Full Text
- Select one or more references in your EndNote library, and click the Find Full Text button (or right click and choose Find Full Text)
- Login with your UTS ID and password, then click continue
- EndNote will start to search for full text. If the full text is available on open access or from one of our subscribed databases, the PDF will attach to the article
- Note that this only works for articles, not generally for books or book chapters
- Sometimes a link to online text is added to the reference when the PDF version of the text is not available. These links may not always work!
- You’ll notice that it takes a few seconds per reference to search for full text so be prepared to wait
- The presence of an attachment is indicated by a paperclip symbol in the far left column of your EndNote library
- You can view the attached pdf in the summary pane on the right.
If the full text is not found in this way, then you can manually check if it's available from the library collection:
- Select article you want to check, go to References > URL > OpenURL Link
- If the full text available, you will get links from databases. Click on the link to locate the article full text.
- If the full text is not available, you can sign in to check if there are additional request options, e.g. InterLibrary Loans.