United Nations materials
The United Nations was founded in 1945 to foster good relations and cooperation between nations. It is a large organisation made up of principal and subsidiary organs, and specialised agencies.
Explore the directory and the system chart for more information on the UN as an organisation.
- Charter of the United Nations The founding document outlining the principles, aims and rationale of the UN, signed on 26 June 1945.
- Directory of United Nations System Organizations This page categorizes and links to UN system and related organisations.
- The United Nations System A chart showing the principal organs of the UN system.
- GlobaLex - Researching the United Nations: Finding the Organization's Internal Resource Trails The UN is such a massive organisation that it needs a map and compass for navigation. This guide contains useful links and tips on navigating UN sites.
- A Concise Encyclopedia of the United Nations An excellent encyclopedia on the UN, covering every aspect of its work.
United Nations documents
These are the main repositories for United Nations documents:
1. United Nations Digital Library (UNDL) - an online database of UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979.
2. United Nations Official Document System (ODS) - an online database of full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, and other organs of the UN. The ODS contains documents not collected by the UNDL, and older documents are being added periodically.
3. UN Member States: On The Record - Part of the UNDL, this database provides access to official documents reflecting the views and actions of UN Member States.
- United Nations Digital Library (UNDL) Includes UN documents, voting data, speeches and open access publications. Click on 'Help' at the top of the screen for a detailed guide on how to use the UNDL.
- United Nations Official Document System (ODS) An online database of full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward.
- UN Member States: On the Record Part of the UNDL, provides direct access to official documents reflecting the views and actions of UN Member States.
Research Guides on United Nations Materials
These research guides on finding UN materials have been developed by various law libraries and law research institutions around the world:
We recommend exploring them as they contain much additional information that is not covered in this guide.
- Dag Hammarskjöld Library - Research Guide on UN Documents A research guide on finding UN documents by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library, United Nations.
- Dag Hammarskjöld Library - Research Guide on the UN Digital Library (UNDL) An excellent guide on how and when to use the UN Digital Library (UNDL)
- Dag Hammarskjöld Library - Research Guides on UN Documents A comprehensive list of guides on US Documents
- Goodson Law Library Guide - United Nations A research guide on the UN by the Goodson Law Library.
- Electronic Resource Guide (ERG) - United Nations A guide from the American Society of International Law (ASIL).
- Emory University Law Library Research Guide - United Nations Research A research guide on the United Nations by the Emory University Law Library.
- UN Audiovisual Library of International Law - Documents Links to the official records and documentation of the United Nations, its Specialised Agencies and other international organisations.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.