International Human Rights & Humanitarian Law
International Human Rights Law consists of treaties, customary international law, general principles,& regional agreements and domestic law that have been established for the promotion and protection of human rights. The foundational principles of international human rights law are based on The Universal Declaration of Human Rights 1948.
International Humanitarian Law consists of rules, principles and practices that seek to limit the effects of armed conflicts on civilians. A major source of International Humanitarian Law is The Geneva Conventions 1949.
Recommended titles
UN Human Rights documentation
- Charter of the United Nations The founding document outlining the principles, aims and rationale of the UN, signed on 26 June 1945.
- Universal Declaration of Human Rights 1948 (UDHR) A milestone document. It set out, for the first time, fundamental human rights to be universally protected.
- The Core International Human Rights Instruments and their monitoring bodies Full-text of 9 core international human rights instruments.
- United Nations Human Rights Treaties Provides information on the 9 core human rights treaties. Searchable by subject matter.
- Other Universal Human Rights Instruments A non-exhaustive selection of universal instruments relating to human rights.
- Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights - UN Treaty Body Database Search for documents and information pertaining to the core international human rights treaties.
- Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights - Jurisprudence Jurisprudence emanating from the UN Treaty Bodies on the violation of human rights.
Research Guides
- Dag Hammarskjöld Library - Research Guide on UN Human Rights Documentation Research Guide on UN Human Rights Documentation, developed by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library, United Nations.
Other useful resources
Research Guides
- Georgetown Law Library - Human Rights Law Research Guide Provides links to relevant primary materials and introduce important secondary sources relating to Human Rights Law.
- Electronic Resource Guide (ERG) - International Human Rights Law A guide from the American Society of International Law (ASIL)
- Peace Palace Library - Research Guide on Human Rights A research guide on Human Rights Law by the Peace Palace Library.
- GlobaLex - International Human Rights Research Guide A research guide on International Human Rights by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.
Websites
- U.S. Department of State - Country Reports on Human Rights Practices Annual country reports on human rights practices, also known as the 'Human Rights Reports'.
- European Court of Human Rights The judicial body of the Council of Europe. Responsible for interpreting the articles of the European Convention on Human Rights.
- UN Audiovisual Library of International Law - Human Rights - Historical Archives Historical archives of the UN Audiovisual Library of International Law.
- UN Audiovisual Library of International Law - Human Rights - Lecture Series Lectures from the UN Audiovisual Library of International Law.
- International Committee for the Red Cross (ICRC) - Treaties and States Parties A list of current and historical treaties on victims of armed conflicts, methods and means of warfare, cultural property, criminal repression, and other treaties relating to IHL.
- University of Virginia School of Law - UN Human Rights Treaties - Travaux Préparatoires A database of fully-searchable, digital copies of travaux préparatoires / drafting histories from the major post-World War II human rights treaties.
- Emory University Law Library Research Guide - International Human Rights A research guide on International Human Rights by the Emory University Law Library.
- Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) Official website of the UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
- International Committee for the Red Cross (ICRC) - Customary International Humanitarian Law (IHL) Database An online version of the ICRC’s study on customary international humanitarian law (IHL), originally published by Cambridge University Press in 2005.
- International Commission of Jurists Publishes research reports on human rights and the rule of law worldwide.
- International Justice Resource Center (IJRC) - Online Resource Hub News and calendars of the international courts and human rights treaty bodies, with links to reports and documents before them.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.