Finding foreign cases
Great Britain
ICLR (Incorporated Council for Law Reporting for England and Wales) is the main resource for finding the full text of British cases from approximately 1865.
- ICLR.4 Contains all case reports published by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales, since 1865.
- BAILII Free resource covering cases and legislation from Britain and Ireland. Related to AustLII. Includes Scottish cases.
- Westlaw UK Includes EU & UK legislation, case law and selected legal journals.
- Lexis Advance Pacific (UK cases) Includes All England Reports (1936+), All England Reports Reprints (1558-1935), and English Reports.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw Choose the 'International Materials' link on the bottom right, then select United Kingdom. Includes selected cases from English Reports.
- English Reports 1220-1867, English Law Reports pre-1865 (via HeinOnline) Choose 'English Reports' from HeinOnline's list of databases.
- GlobaLex - Researching the UK Legal System A research guide on the UK Legal System by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.
New Zealand
- New Zealand Cases (Lexis Advance Pacific) Contains most major New Zealand reports, including unreported cases.
- NZLII Free resource covering cases and legislation in New Zealand. Related to AustLII.
Canada
- Canada Cases (Lexis Advance Pacific) Covers a range of Federal and Provincial case reports from Canada.
- CanLII Free resource covering cases and legislation in Canada. Related to AustLII.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw Choose the 'International Materials' link on the bottom right, then select Canada.
Ireland
- Irish Reports (Lexis Advance Pacific) Provides access to a selection of Irish Reports from 1919 onwards.
- IRLII Free resource covering cases and legislation from Ireland. Related to AustLII.
- GlobaLex - Guide to Irish Law A research guide on Irish Law by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.
European Union
- Curia Provides full text of judgments, orders, opinions and notices, and allows searching of cases from the Court of Justice, the General Court and the Civil Service Tribunal.
- EU Cases Full text of EU Cases from the Court of Justice and the General Court of the EU (formerly Court of First Instance)
- European Court of Human Rights Cases Judgments of the European Court of Human Rights.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw Choose the 'International Materials' link on the bottom right, then select European Union.
United States
- Lexis Advance US Research Contains a very large amount of legal (cases, journals, legislation) and business information from the United States. Choose Federal or State tabs.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw Decisions, cases and legislation from US federal and state jurisdictions. Also includes various law reports, reviews, and journal articles.
China
- Westlaw China Contains laws and regulations; cases from the Supreme Court and provincial, local, and special courts (currently in Chinese only); and digests of the law.
Other countries
- Lexis Advance US Research Choose the 'International' tab to access legislation from non-U.S. jurisdictions.
- Thomson Reuters Westlaw Choose the 'International Materials' link on the bottom right.
- World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) A free global legal research database covering worldwide legislation, cases, treaties and more.
- GlobaLex - Foreign Law Research A guide from the Hauser Law School at New York University.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.