Comparative Law
As a discipline, Comparative Law is concerned with the similarities and differences between the legal systems of different states, and the examination of their relationships.
See below for a list of key resources on comparative law.
Also, take a look at the Foreign Legislation and Foreign Cases sections of this guide for links to foreign jurisdiction resources.
Books
- Oxford Scholarship Online - Books on Comparative Law A selection of books on Comparative Law.
Encyclopedia
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law A comprehensive reference resource for topics in Comparative Constitutional Law.
Databases
- HeinOnline - World Constitutions Illustrated From HeinOnline homepage, under 'Browse Databases by Category', choose 'World Constitutions Illustrated' - which contains the current constitution for every country.
Research Guides
- Georgetown Law Library - Foreign and Comparative Law Research Guide A research guide on Foreign and Comparative Law by the Gerogetown Law Library.
- GlobaLex - Comparative Law Research A research guide on Comparative Law by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.
- GlobaLex - Foreign Law – Subject Law Collections on the Web Lists resources for all aspects of the law in different jurisdictions.
Useful Links
- Constitute Contains English versions of the constitutions of nearly every country in the world.
- Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) - LegislationOnline.org Provides direct access to international norms and standards relating to specific human dimension issues affecting OSCE member nations.
- International Criminal Court (ICC) - Legal Tools Database Contains all decisions, filings and transcripts from the ICC and other international tribunals, human rights bodies and national courts.
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Lex Database Search WIPO Lex provides free of charge access to legal information on intellectual property from around the world.
- Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) Provides information about Latin American institutions, political processes, national constitutions, elections and other subjects.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.