Study Guides: International Law: Foreign Legislation

Country/Region-specific Legislative Materials (see also the Other countries section at the bottom of this page)

University of Chicago Library - Foreign Law by Country and Region Guides to the law of foreign jurisdictions online. Divided by region and alphabetically.
Library of Congress Research Guides - Legal Information by Nation An index of freely available legal information for each country.
New York University Law Library Research Guide - Foreign Law by Jurisdiction A great research guide with links to various legislation sources, organised by jurisdiction.

UK Legislation Official site for UK legislation.
Westlaw UK Includes EU & UK legislation, case law and selected legal journals.
BAILII Free resource covering cases and legislation in Britain and Ireland. Related to AustLII.
HathiTrust Digital Library - Historical UK Legislation - 19th century Scanned volumes of historical UK legislation from the 19th century.
HeinOnline - Historical UK Legislation - pre-1714 From HeinOnline homepage, under 'Browse Databases by Category', choose 'Statutes of the Realm'.
Bills before Parliament Official site. Current and some historical Bills.
UK Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest) Historical legislation and parliamentary debates. Select 'Advanced Search'.
UK Hansard Official source for records of parliamentary debates at the UK Parliament.

NZ Legislation Official site for New Zealand legislation.
Lexis Advance Pacific Includes New Zealand Law Reports and other NZ law report series.
NZ Hansard Official source for records of parliamentary debates from the New Zealand parliament.

Justice Laws Website The official online source of the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada.
Canada Hansard Records of Parliamentary Debates in the House of Commons, Canada.

Westlaw China Contains laws and regulations; cases from the Supreme Court and provincial, local, and special courts (currently in Chinese only); and digests of the law.
GlobaLex - Finding Chinese Law on the Internet A great description of the Chinese legal system with many useful links.

European Union - Find legislation Official site for treaties establishing the European Union and its regulations, directives and decisions.
European Parliament Plenary Official records of debates in the European Parliament.
European Parliament - How does the legislative process work? A good summary of how the legislative process works in the European Parliament.
EUR-Lex - Access to European Union Law Provides the official and most comprehensive access to EU legal documents.
Electronic Resource Guide for the European Union (American Society of International Law) Research Guide for the European Union.

Electronic Irish Statute Book Online versions of Irish Acts and Regulations. Official site.
IRLII Free resource covering cases and legislation from Ireland. Related to AustLII.
GlobaLex - Guide to Irish Law A research guide on Irish Law by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.

Federal and State Laws, Regulations, and more Free site. Provides links to the US Code, US Statutes, and to the laws of the various States. Also has links to Executive Orders.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw Decisions, cases and legislation from US federal and state jurisdictions. Also includes various law reports, reviews, and journal articles.
Lexis Advance US Research Contains a very large amount of legal (cases, journals, legislation) and business information from the United States. Choose Federal or State tabs.
Cornell Law School - Legal Information Institute (LII) Publishes electronic versions of core materials in various areas of the United States legislation.
US Congress website Official site of the US Congress. Look under 'Congressional Record' for proceedings and speeches.
United States Congress - How our Laws are made An excellent guide to the Federal legislative process in the US.

Legifrance In French. Official site for current French legislation.
Gallica - Law Essentials In French. Scanned hstorical French legislation up to 1940.
GlobaLex - Researching French Law Thorough description of how the French legal system works with many useful links.

Lexis Advance US Research Choose the 'International' tab to access legislation from non-U.S. jurisdictions.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw Choose the 'International Materials' link on the bottom right.
World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) A free global legal research database covering worldwide legislation, cases, treaties and more.
GlobaLex - Foreign Law Research A guide from the Hauser Law School at New York University.

International Law: Foreign Legislation