International Law
The concept of international law refers to a body of rules established by general principles, customary practices or norms, bilateral and multilateral treaties and judicial decisions that govern the relationships between nations.
This page contains a list of recommended resources for students researching international law, public international law and customary international law.
Books
Search for the keyword 'International Law' in the Library Catalogue to view our general books collection – which includes textbooks. You can try a more specific keyword, for example: 'Public International Law' or 'Customary International Law'.
- International Law UTS Library catalogue search results for "International Law"
- Public International Law UTS Library catalogue search results for "Public International Law".
- Customary International Law UTS Library search results for "customary international law".
Recommended books
Encyclopedias
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law A comprehensive reference resource for topics in International Law.
- Parry & Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law Covers international law, with references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites.
- Encyclopedia of Global Justice An encyclopedia covering all aspects of global justice.
- Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis Advance Pacific) A legal encyclopaedia providing a comprehensive overview of Australian law. Section 215 (Foreign Relations) covers international law and relations, sources of international law, human rights and the law of treaties.
Databases
- HeinOnline - International Law From HeinOnline homepage, under 'Browse Databases by Category', choose 'International Resources'.
Research guides
These guides on international law have been developed by various law libraries and law research institutions around the world:
- Electronic Resource Guide for Public International Law An excellent research guide from the American Society for International Law (ASIL).
- Dag Hammarskjöld Library - Research Guide on United Nations and International Law Documentation Provides an introduction to the key documentation of the UN.
- United Nations International Law Commission - Analytical Guides A research guide on the work of the UN International Law Commission.
- Emory University Law Library Research Guide - Introduction to International Law A research guide on International Law by the Emory University Law Library.
- Peace Palace Library - Research Guide on Public International Law A research guide on Public International Law by the Peace Palace Library.
- Peace Palace Library - Research Guide on Customary International Law A research guide on Customary International Law by the Peace Palace Library.
- GlobaLex - Researching Customary International Law, State Practice and the Pronouncements of States Regarding International Law A research guide on Customary International Law by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.
Useful websites
- Duke University - International Legal Research Tutorial A tutorial on strategies and methodology for researching sources of international legal materials.
- UN Audiovisual Library of International Law - International Law - Lecture Series Lecture series on various topics including legal theory, sources of international law, and customary international law.
- Digest of United States Practice in International Law Provides a historical record of the views and practice of the US Government in public and private international law.
Blogs, news services & podcasts
- Global Legal Monitor From the Law Library of Congress, covering legal news and developments worldwide.
- Blog of the European Journal of International Law Comments and analysis about international law as it happens, from contributors to one of the best international law journals.
- Oxford University - International Law A selection of talks, lectures and podcasts focusing on international law.
- Opinio Juris A popular blog on topics relating to international law.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.