Welcome
This guide helps Visual Communication students with their studies. Learn how to:
- Plan your search
- Find academic sources
- Improve your software & graphic design skills
- Learn about data visualisation
- Find images
- Learn proper referencing for your course.
Key resources for Visual Communication
- Library Catalogue The Library Catalogue is a good place to start your search. You can find many different information types in the one search.
- ProQuest the Arts A database for books, journal articles and more, covering the subjects of art, design, social science & music.
- JSTOR JSTOR contains full text journal articles, books & book chapters. The information in this databases covers many areas.
- LinkedIn Learning Offers more than 1,400 courses at different level including programming, cloud computing, data science, graphic design and software training.
Suggested books
Resource types
Books
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Journal Articles
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Multimedia
Depending on your course, major or specialty, this could include creative works (e.g. films, music, audio tracks) or non-creative works (e.g. news broadcasts, online tutorials, animations or visualisations).
Images
Images encompass a wide range of different types, including artwork, photographs, building plans & graphs. Different styles of images include stock images, artefacts, exhibits, infographics and more.
Related Guides
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.