Study Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Home

Welcome

This guide is for students enrolled in Biomedical Engineering. It will help you develop the core skills needed to find, evaluate and reference information in your assessments.

In this guide, you will:

Find key resources for Biomedical Engineering
Plan a search to find information
Find referencing resources

Key resources for Biomedical Engineering

Databases

BioCyc Microbial Genomes and Metabolic Pathways Web Portal BioCyc is a collection of 14728 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for exploring them.
Medline Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
Embase A medical database with particularly good coverage of drug literature. The emphasis is on European sources.
ProQuest Science & Technology Provides journal articles, conference papers, theses, books, and reports.
Scopus A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers.
IEEE Xplore This database provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards.

You can also view the Library's complete collection of biomedical databases by clicking the link below:

Biomedical Databases A link to UTS Library's collection of biomedical databases.

Image and Video

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy Videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colours, texture and mobility. Includes exams and assessments
Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures) Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes quizzes and tutorials.
Anatomy Zone An extensive video playlist for anatomy.
Baker and Singh’s Interactive Guide to the Human Brain Learn about the essential components of the human brain via ten specific images. This guide is designed as an introductory teaching tool for new students and features: • Photographs of a real human brain and its internal structure • Includes content on blood supply and the cranial nerves • Self-testing tools • Case studies • Fully searchable • Extensive glossary of over 1000 entries
Khan Academy Excellent free online courses for medicine and anatomy.