Welcome
Evidence-based practice or EBP is an approach for using the best research evidence to inform your practice.
There are five steps to EBP, this study guide will show you how to conduct these steps – Ask, Acquire, Appraise, Apply, and Assess.
The EBP Model
Step 1: Ask
- Formulating a question
Step 2: Acquire
- Searching for the best information to address your question
Step 3: Appraise
- Critically evaluate the information you’ve found for validity, applicability and bias
Step 4: Apply
- Apply your findings to practice
Step 5: Assess
- Reflect on whether you have carried out steps 1-4 effectively
Key EBP Databases
- Medline (Ovid) One of the largest biomedical databases in the world. Managed by the National Library of Medicine. Medline is a sub-set of PubMed.
- CINAHL (EBSCO) Nursing and Allied Health database.
- PubMed This is a key database used by health professionals around the world to find the latest research. Managed by the National Library of Medicine and is one of the largest health databases in the world. Contains the content in Medline.
- Embase (OVID) Recommended if you’re looking for information related to pharmacology and medical devices.
- Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
Why is EBP Important?
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.