Study Guides: Data Science: Home

Welcome

This guide will help Data Science students locate, evaluate, and use information to support their studies. It also contains support for:

Creating data visualisations
Developing your data science skills
Software and coding skills for languages and applications including R, Python, and Tableau

Click on Plan Your Search to move to the next page of the guide or use the menu to navigate to the page you need.

Plan Your Search

Key resources for Data Science

Databases

IEEE Explore Access to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, and related materials on computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields.
INSPEC Access to scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering
ProQuest Business Provides access to 18 business-related ProQuest databases covering all aspects of business.
Scopus The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources.

Datasets / Statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics Provides comprehensive access to Australian statistical and reference information
IbisWorld Reports assessing various Australian industries, including their market size, main players, SWOT analyses, etc.
Statista Contains graphs and tabular data, especially useful for technological data and usage statistics
World Bank Open Data Statistics on global development
World Health Organization (WHO) Explore WHO's key data tools, data sets and databases on data trends and analysis related to global health

Resource types

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Reports

Often contain specific information about a particular issue, event, industry area, region, trend or market. Most reports are written by or for governments, organisation or industry areas.

Data Science: Home