Skip to Main Content

Biomedical Engineering: Finding Journal Articles & Conference Papers

This guide provides an overview of key resources available for Biomedical Engineering, and some strategies to effectively find high quality information.

Journal articles 

 

Academic journal articles and conference papers are one way in which you can find in-depth analysis on particular issues and current research information in a field.
Journal articles can be found by using the library catalogue, but we recommend you look in a discipline specific database. Conference papers, often compiled into conference proceedings, can also be found through the catalogue or a database like Scopus or ProQuest.

Database searching tips: 

 
  • Use the "Find Full Text @ UTS Library" link to find full text for articles available in abstract only
  • Choose the “peer reviewed” option to find high quality academic journal articles
  • Look at an article’s reference list (cited articles) to find more relevant articles
  • Identify the keywords and alternative terms from your research question, and you can reuse the concept table
  • Use Boolean operators and brackets to group search terms: AND, OR, NOT

Image using venn diagrams to represent boolean searching

  • Use “quotation marks” for exact phrases, “3D bioprinting”
  • Use truncation character * to broaden the search, e.g. ethic* will search ethics, ethical and ethically 
  • Search sample: (ethic* or moral*) AND "stem cells" AND (bioprint* OR "3D bioprint*")

Conference papers and proceedings

 

A conference paper is the text of a paper or presentation given at a conference. Papers from a particular conference are often compiled together as a conference proceeding.

Conference papers and proceedings are published in a variety of ways, which can make them tricky to find. They may be published as a book, a journal article, a special issue or supplement of a journal, or as part of a series. Sometimes the organisation that holds the conference may only publish abstracts from the conference, and not the entire papers. Authors may also publish their conference papers on their own website or on an institutional website. On other occasions conference papers may not be published at all!

 

Why use conference proceedings?

 

Conference papers present the latest research and advancements in a particular field. Therefore, conference papers and proceedings can be a great source of current research and leading information in a field.

 

Finding conference papers & proceedings

 

A search in the library catalogue or databases may find conference papers or proceedings published in journals, journal supplements, books or series. Be aware that published proceedings may not include ALL of the papers presented at the conference, especially if some papers are not peer-reviewed.

To find conference material in the library catalogue limit your search results to Conference Proceedings under Resource Type.

Many library databases index published conference papers and proceedings. The databases listed below are multidisclipinary databases that index conference papers and proceedings.