Statistics
Use these websites & databases to find statistics to inform your designs. These sources are more reliable place to find statistics than on the web.
Key resources
- Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) The ABS is the main collector of statistics on many aspects of Australian society, economy, industry and culture.
- Australian Census The Census is taken every five years and offers a wealth of statistics on Australian society.
- HealthStats NSW Brings together data from many sources to produce statistics about the health of NSW. Covers a range of health risk factors, diseases, locations, and specific populations.
- Statista Statista is a subscription database available to UTS staff and students. it contains information on over 170 industries from over 150 countries.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) The OECD is made up of 37 countries including Australia. Statistics are collected on a wide variety of topics.
- World Bank - Indicators The World Bank is an international organisation that supports development in over 189 countries. The link is to Indicators, which are more granular than most other sources.
- World Bank - Countries and Economics The World Bank is an international organisation that supports development in over 189 countries. The link is to Countries and Economics.
Patents & standards
In your studies you may need to find standards to ensure that the products you design align with the correct Australian or international standards. You may also need to locate patent information to find out whether an idea you have already exists or has been patented.
Free resources to find patent information
- IP Australia - AusPat Search Australian patents. IP Australia also provides paid service for patent analytics reports.
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)- Patentscope The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) USPTO has the most up-to-date set of U.S. patents and patent applications, published every Tuesday.
- European Patent Office (EPO)- Espacenet Espacenet contains data on more than 120 million patent documents from around the world back to 1782.
- Free Patents Online (FPO) FPO indexes and make searchable all the same fields used by the USPTO but offers a much user-friendly interface.
- Google Patents Covers JP, CN, US, EP, WO, DE, GB, KR, FR, CA, ES, RU, NL, FI, DK, LU, BE. (USPTO back to 1790, WIPO & EPO back to 1978), US & European published patent applications, includes 'Find Prior Art' option to search multiple sources (Patents, Books, Scholar, Web) and fine tune by inventor (people facet) as well as dates.
Finding standards
UTS Library has a number of standards in our collection, including all Australian and some ISO standards.
The best way to find print standards is using the library catalogue.
If the standard is not available in the Library Catalogue, please try the databases listed below. If you have difficulty in finding a standard, please contact a librarian.
Australian Standards
- Australian Standards Online Provides the complete collection of current Australian standards and a part of ISO standards. From the 1st of July 2020, access to standards has be changed. You are required to register your name and UTS email address, then authenticate in order to download, save or print a standard. You will still be able to view standards as read only without registering your details.
- National Construction Codes Formerly known as the Building Code of Australia, this website contains Volumes 1 and 2 of the Construction code (covering domestic and industrial buildings), plumbing and drainage codes and more. They are free to access, but you need to register with NCC to view.
- Acumen Acumen is a professional practice resource for architects. It contains notes on how to operate an architectural practice, run building projects, and how to design and build sustainably
- Australian Vehicle Design Rules The Australian Design Rules (ADRs) are national standards for vehicle safety, anti-theft and emissions.
- Austroads Guide to Road Design The Austroads Guide to Road Design provides designers with a framework that promotes efficiency in design and construction, economy, and both consistency and safety for road users.
- Food Standards Code The standards in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code are legislative instruments under the Legislation Act 2003.
A Google search will find more open-access standards used in different industries in Australia.
International Standards
- British Standards Online UTS Library has full text access to the BSI online: Construction-general standards module only.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.