Materials databases
For discovering and researching different materials & material types, check out the following sources.
Databases & websites
Try these databases & websites to find different materials and products for inspiration in your own product design.
- WGSN LIfestyle and Interiors Not just an image database WGSN contains magazine style articles covering trends in interior design, furnishings and new materials and technologies.
- Ecospecifier A website focusing on different sustainable products and materials.
- Material District A great source of inspiration for discovering innovative materials.
- Product Selector The Product Selector from ArchitectureAU showcases different products for architecture, building & product design.
Books
Search the Library Catalogue for materials you are interested in, or try searching for books on a product or object you're researching.
Browse the book shelves in the Library for inspiration & information on different materials for product design.
Look in the 620 & 660 sections.
Suggested books:
Idea!
If you're after research articles on different materials, check out the Academic Sources section of this guide.
Images
Try searching the following databases and museum collections for images to use in your studies.
- ArtStor Contains photographs of buildings, furnishings and some building plans, as well as art and design objects going back to prehistory.
- Google Arts & Culture Contains images, artwork & exhibits from around the world.
Idea!
- Check out the Images Guide for more advice on how to search for images.
- Finding images in books is another way to find high-quality images. The best place to explore is Level 9 of the Library - Large size books area.
UX & design techniques
If you're looking to improve yoru skills in design techniques such as User Experience and Human Experience, use the suggestions below.
Guides & Handbooks
You can find guides & handbooks on design techniques by searching the UTS Library collection of books. Try keywords like:
- User experience
- User centred design
- Sustainable design
- Human experience design
- Empathetic design
- Usability
- Design thinking
An example search you could make is:
- ("user experience" OR "human experience") AND design
Suggested books:
Tutorials
You can find lots of courses & video tutorials for User Experience design and other techniques in the LinkedIn Learning database.
- LinkedIn LearningLogin with your UTS details and search for what you want to learn.
Suggested Courses:
- Become a User Experience Designer
- Design Thinking: Customer Experience
- Empathy in UX Design
- Industrial Design Foundations
How to access LinkedIn Learning
Click the 'Sign In' button
On a LinkedIn Learning course or video, check the top-right corner. If you are already signed-in, you will see the UTS logo. If not, click the 'Sign In' button.
Use your UTS email address
Your student email should be your name or student number followed by @student.uts.edu.au.
Continue to Single Sign-On
You should be prompted to sign in with Single Sign-On. To get this option, make sure you use your UTS email.
Log in to your UTS email
Sign in to your UTS account using your student email and password. This is the Single Sign-On process.
Finish
You should now be signed in to LinkedIn Learning on your UTS student account. Check the top, right-hand corner; you should see a blue UTS logo.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.