Study Guides: Marketing: Other Useful Resources

Newspapers are a great source if you are looking for current or historical information, trends and opinions on a particular topic.

Many newspapers publish special issues, columns or analysis on finance and economics-related issues.

You can search individual newspapers from our library catalogue, or search across multiple newspapers using a database.

The Australian Financial Review (AFR) An excellent source for Australian finance and economics news and analysis.
The Australian A major national newspaper with in-depth coverage on finance and economics-related issues.
The Sydney Morning Herald A major Sydney-based newspaper.
The Age A major Melbourne-based newspaper.
The Canberra Times A canberra-based newspaper with great coverage on federal politics, budget and national economic matters.

The New York Times An influential and widely-read newspaper from the United States.
The Wall Street Journal One of the largest business-focused newspaper from the United States.
Financial Times (FT) An international newspaper on business and economic current affairs. Our subscription is delayed by 1 month due to the publisher's embargo.
The Sunday Times (London) A major newspaper from the United Kingdom.
International Business Times (IBTimes) A global news publication that delivers international business news.
Reuters One of the world's largest providers of business and financial news.

Factiva is a major news database which provides access to thousands of newspapers, business and trade publications from around the world.

Factiva A major news database covering sources from around the world including newspapers, business and trade publications.

Websites, blogs and podcasts can be great sources for information on the latest trends and developments in your discipline area.

These websites may help you to stay up-to-date on what's happening around the world on issues relating to your discipline area:

The Conversation: Business + Economy Articles written by academics, but in journalistic tone.
International Business Times (IBTimes) A global news publication that delivers international business news.
Reuters One of the world's largest providers of business and financial news.
Business Insider Australia An American financial and business news website with some Australian coverage.

Blogs are online journals/diaries and can be useful to understand how people are thinking or reflecting on the latest trends and developments.

HubSpot A popular blog on inbound marketing.
Moz A popular blog on inbound marketing and Search Engine Optimisation (SEO). Also publishes case studies.
eMarketer A blog on digital marketing strategy.
Marketo A blog on best practices in digital marketing.
Social Media Examiner Current tips and trends in social media marketing.

Listening to podcasts is an easy way of staying abreast with latest trends and developments on your chosen topic.

Marketing Over Coffee A show about marketing strategy.
Perpetual Traffic Discusses how to generate more leads and sales for business through different social media channels.
Social Pros Advice on marketing strategy, public relations and brand narrative.
Social Media Marketing Covers success stories in social media marketing and current industry trends.
Small Business, Big Marketing Interviews with successful small business owners about their business and marketing strategy.

In addition to databases, Google Scholar can be a useful tool for general, broad searches for journal articles and conference papers.

Google Scholar Add ‘UTS Library’ under 'Google Scholar > Settings > Library Link' to access articles that are available through our subscriptions.

Marketing: Other Useful Resources