Welcome
If you are studying Management, this guide is for you.
In this guide, you will find:
- Key resources for Management: books and journal databases
- links to newspaper databases, podcasts and relevant websites
- Company, industry and country information
- Statistics and grey literature resources
- APA referencing resources
Key resources for Management
Books
- Books on ManagementSearch for the phrase "Business Management" in the Library Catalogue to view our general books collection – which includes textbooks and online books. You can try a more specific keyword to narrow down on the topic.
- The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Human Resource Management Provides concise definitions and explanations of the key concepts covering human resource management.
- Oxford Dictionary of Business and Management A dictionary covering all areas of modern business practice.
Trade Journals
- The Economist Provides insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them.
- Harvard Business Review (HBR) A leading business magazine covering strategy, leadership, innovation and general finance and economics-related topics.
- Forbes Magazine American business magazine featuring articles on finance, industry, investing, and marketing topics.
Academic Journals
- Academy of Management Journal One of the most influential and frequently cited management journals.
- Strategic Management Journal Publishes high-quality research on strategic management.
- Journal of Management Publishes scholarly empirical and theoretical research articles on the management field as a whole.
- Organization Science Publishes fundamental research about organisations, including their processes, structures, capabilities and performance.
- Journal of Organizational Behavior Publishes empirical reports and theoretical reviews of research in the field of organisational behaviour.
Databases
- ProQuest Business Provides access to articles from business-related academic journals, trade publications and magazines.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Provides full-text access to key business-related publications from around the world including academic journals, magazines and trade publications.
- Australian Industrial Relations Database (IREL) Provides articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of industrial relations and related topics.
Resource types
Books
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Journal Articles
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Grey Literature
This includes government or non-government organisation (NGO) reports, guidelines and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific region, state, country or worldwide.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.