Skip to Main Content

Forensic Science: Home

These guides provide an introduction to key resources available for Forensic Science. The Library has a wide range of both electronic and print materials including books, databases and journals.

Welcome

 

This guide will help Forensic Science students find the information they need for their studies. This guide will cover:

  • how to plan your search
  • finding books, articles and reports
  • finding Australian legislation
  • finding anatomy resources
  • APA 7th referencing

Key resources for Forensic Science

 

Databases

You can also view the Library's complete collection of Forensic Science Databases by clicking the link below:

Reference Materials

Resource types

 

There are a range of information types that will be useful to you. Your job is to decide what your information needs are and to find the right information to fill that need.

The table below summarises some of the types of information that will help you, and the following pages in this guide go into further detail on ways to find this information. 

Book icon

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context   and is very useful as a starting point for research, especially if you are new to the topic. 

Journal article icon

Journal Articles

 Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal   articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Report icon

Policies & Reports

 This includes government policies, guidelines, industry reports and statistics. They often contain   an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific industry, region, state, country or worldwide.