Study Guides: Environmental Science: Home

Welcome

This guide will help Environmental Science students find the information they need for their studies. This guide will cover:

how to plan your search
finding books, articles and reports
APA 7th referencing

Key resources for Environmental Science

Reference Materials

Access Science Access Science is an electronic encyclopedia that you can use as a general reference for science and technology topics.
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation Published by Oxford University Press, with over 8500 entries, this informative dictionary addresses the social, legal, political and economic aspects of the environment and conservation as well as the scientific terms.
Dictionary of Earth Sciences This dictionary of earth sciences has been revised and updated and contains over 6000 entries, including planetary science remote sensing, statistics, and sequence stratigraphy, and substantial updating in paleontology, mineralogy, and geophysics.
Encyclopedia of Soil Science This book constitutes a wide ranging and authoritative collection of about 160 academic articles covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology.
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science the Encyclopedia of Coastal Science features contributions by almost 270 well-known international specialists in their respective fields and is abundantly illustrated with line-drawings and photographs.
Encyclopedia of Ecology The groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Ecology provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied.
Water Encyclopedia the Water Encyclopedia is an excellent resource for wastewater, drinking water, and groundwater professionals, hydrologists, water chemists, oceanographers, earth scientists, geologists, chemical engineers, process engineers, and meteorologists.

Videos

Environment Studies Collection Provides viewers with short videos on all aspects of Environment Studies, including ecology and sustainability.
Oceanography Video Collection This series of videos educates viewers on all topics associated with Oceanography, including deep ocean organisms, wetlands, and coastal ecology.

Databases

ProQuest Science & Technology Provides journal articles, conference papers, theses, books, and reports.
Scopus A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers.
PubMed The National Library of Medicine's free search service, providing access to millions of citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases.
SciFinderⁿ Comprehensive information covering the biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science and agricultural science. It consists of CA Plus (formerly Chemical Abstracts) from 1907 onwards.

You can also view the Library's complete collection of Environmental Science Databases by clicking the link below:

Environmental Science Databases

Resource types

There are a range of information types that will be useful to you. Your job is to decide what your information needs are and to find the right information to fill that need.

The table below summarises some of the types of information that will help you, and the following pages in this guide go into further detail on ways to find this information.

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research, especially if you are new to the topic.

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Policies & Reports

This includes government policies, guidelines, industry reports and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific industry, region, state, country or worldwide.

Environmental Science: Home