Study Guides: Medical Science: Home

Welcome!

This guide will help Medical Science students find the information they need for their studies. This guide will cover:

how to plan your search
finding books, articles and reports
resources for anatomy
APA 7th referencing

Key resources for Medical Science

Reference Materials

Access Science Access Science is an electronic encyclopedia that you can use as a general reference for science and technology topics.
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics This book covers the basics and the latest in genomics, proteomics, genetic engineering, small RNAs, transcription factories, chromosome territories, stem cells, genetic networks, epigenetics, prions, hereditary diseases, patents, etc.
Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs & Biologicals The hardcover is complimented by a searchable database, The Merck Index Online, which contains an additional 1,100 compounds. The format for the compound monographs online includes useful references for each compound to the primary literature in the form of key publications. It also provides the ability to download structures in JPEG format.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology This book provides descriptions of around 2000 enzymes and proteins are given, with details of laws, constants and formulae, in this handy reference volume.
Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology Patty's Industrial Hygiene presents valuable information on the recognition and evaluation of chemical agents, physical agents, and biohazards in the workplace, as well as engineering control of exposure and personal protection.
The Springer Index of Viruses This encyclopedia presents the latest facts about all known viruses in a standardized form created by hundreds of the world's leading virologists.

Databases

BioCyc Microbial Genomes and Metabolic Pathways Web Portal BioCyc is a collection of 14728 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for exploring them.
Embase (Ovid) A medical database with particularly good coverage of drug literature. The emphasis is on European sources.
MEDLINE (Ovid) Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
ProQuest Health & Medicine Search across 15 databases indexing journals, books, reports, conference papers, dissertations and theses, government publications, videos, etc in all aspects of health, nursing and medicine including Evidence-Based Resources such as those from the Joanna Briggs Institute. Includes some fulltext.
PubMed The National Library of Medicine's free search service, providing access to millions of citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases.
SciFinderⁿ Comprehensive information covering the biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science and agricultural science. It consists of CA Plus (formerly Chemical Abstracts) from 1907 onwards.
Scopus A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers.
Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures) This online resource covers essential content from first and second year anatomy & physiology courses. It includes 19 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides that can be labelled, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.

You can also view the Library's complete collection of Medical Science Databases by clicking the link below:

Medicine and Biosciences Databases A link to UTS Library's collection of biomedical databases.

Resource types

There are a range of information types that will be useful to you. Your job is to decide what your information needs are and to find the right information to fill that need.

The table below summarises some of the types of information that will help you, and the following pages in this guide go into further detail on ways to find this information.

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research, especially if you are new to the topic.

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Policies & Reports

This includes government policies, guidelines, industry reports and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific industry, region, state, country or worldwide.

Medical Science: Home