Study Guides: Pharmacy: Home

Welcome

This guide will help Pharmacy and Good Manufacturing Practice students find the information they need for their studies.

Key resources for Pharmacy and GMP

Drug Information and Guidelines

MIMs Online a source of current Australian product information and consumer medicine information. Provides reference information on drug ineractions and complementary and alternate medicines.
The Merck Index Contains over contains over 12,000 drug monographs
Martindale: Complete Drug Reference Click on Other Tools in the top right, and select “Tox and Drug Product lookup”. Look for a tab saying Martindale Global Drug
AusDI Australian drug database.
Australian Medicines Handbook Up-to-date source of drug information from Australia
British Pharmacopoeia Online An annually published collection of UK pharmaceutical standards
eTG Online A peer-reviewed reference source of therapeutic guidelines, contains more than 3000 topics.
Micromedex Provides evidence-based information related to drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. Also contains clinical decision support databases and tools such as DRUGDEX System, DISEASEDEX General Medicine, AltMedDes, Martindale.
Pharmaceutical Excipients Comprehensive guide to the uses, properties and safety of pharmaceutical excipients
UpToDate Treatment recommendations based on the best current medical evidence

Medical journal databases

Embase (OVID) A medical database with particularly good coverage of drug literature. The emphasis is on European sources.
Medline The largest and most widely used biomedical database.
CINAHL Nursing and Allied Health Database.

Software

Endnote Download site and guides for Endnote referencing management software.
Refworks Guides and links for Refworks, a web-based referencing management software.
Grammarly UTS students and staff have free access to Grammarly Premium, a web-based grammar helper.

GMP documents

ISPE GAMP RDI Good Practice guide: Data Integrity by Design Guidance document from the International Society of Pharmaceutical Engineers
ISPE GAMP Good Practice Guide: IT Infrastructure Control and Compliance Guidance document from the International Society of Pharmaceutical Engineers
ISPE GAMP 5: A Risk-Based Approach to Compliant GxP Computerized Systems Guidance document from the International Society of Pharmaceutical Engineers

Different types of resources

While planning your search is essential- it's also important to know what type of information you are looking for, as it will help you decide where to search.

Different types of information can be found in different places, for example:

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Grey Literature

This includes government or non-government organisation (NGO) reports, guidelines and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific region, state, country or worldwide.

Pharmacy: Home