A guide for students of Fashion & Textiles on how to find & reference high-quality books, articles, reports, news & images about fashion. Also includes where to find guides to help improve your fashion design skills.
This guide is for Fashion & Textiles students. Find the information you need for your studies.
Pages in this guide:
Plan your search
Fashion Research Resources
Fashion Design Skills
Materials, Techniques & Images
Referencing for Fashion & Textiles
Key resources for Fashion & Textiles
Academic books & journal articles
ProQuest the ArtsA database for books, journal articles and more, covering the subjects of art, design, social science & music.
Berg Fashion LibraryA collection of 3 different databases containing books, journal articles & photographs focusing on fashion.
Library CatalogueThe Library Catalogue is a good place to start your search. You can find many different information types in the one search.
Fashion reports, magazines, images & videos
WGSNA database that contains reports, analyses, news, images & more about fashion, textiles & clothing.
Journal SearchSearch for journals & magazines here. Just input the journal name, your topic or keywords.
Kanopy - Fashion FilmsHundreds of films covering the fashion industry, fashion designers, runway shows, textiles and more.
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Images encompass a wide range of different types, including artwork, photographs, building plans & graphs. Different styles of images include stock images, artefacts, exhibits, infographics and more.
Often contain specific information about a particular issue, event, industry area, region, trend or market. Most reports are written by or for governments, organisation or industry areas.
Many industries produce magazines that contain articles with insights and discussions of specific industry trends & developments, or showcase new works or innovations from people working in the industry. They can be found online or in print, and can be used to find information about an industry.