EndNote: EndNote for AGLC

Using EndNote with the Australian Guide to Legal Citations (AGLC), 4th edition

The user guide (linked below) contains information found on this page with additional screenshots. It contains instructions on:

• Installing and setting up EndNote for AGLC
• Using EndNote with AGLC
• Templates for manually entering legal references into EndNote

Installing the AGLC Style and Legal Reference Types

Instructions about how to do this can be found on our EndNote page:

Note that there are two files to install:

• the reference types file, and
• the AGLC style file

We need the reference types file because EndNote does not come with many of the legal reference types that are required by the AGLC style.

Adding References into Footnotes

• Go to your EndNote library,
• Select the references that you wish to add to a particular footnote. You can select more than one reference by holding down the Control key (Windows) or Command key (Mac).
• Return to your Word document and place the cursor in your text, after the word where you want the footnote number to appear.
• In Word, click on the References tab, then Insert Footnote (Windows); or click on Insert > Footnote (Mac). This will place the footnote number in your text, and create a footnote with that number at the bottom of the page.
• In Word, click on the EndNote tab. Ensure that AGLC style is selected. Place your cursor in the footnote at the bottom of the page and choose Insert Citation > Insert Selected Citation(s). The citations will appear in the footnote, formatted correctly. You can type some text in front of, or after any footnotes, if you wish.
• Inserting citations into footnotes also starts creating your reference list at the end of the document. Do not worry at this stage about categorising your reference list: this can be done later and is covered in a later section of this guide.

Repeat this process for all your footnotes. Note that Word will maintain the correct numerical order of footnotes, both in-text and at the bottom of the pages, no matter what order you insert them into your document.

Short Titles

When you add a new reference to your EndNote library, if there is no author you will need to add a short title into the reference's Short Title field. You don't need to do this if the reference has an author, such as books, most reports, journal & newspaper articles and so on.

For Cases, the short title should be either:

• The popular case name if there is one; or
• The first word or couple of words of the name of the first party; or
• If the first party is the Crown, the first word or couple of words of the name of the second party.

For short titles of Legislation or Treaties:

• If there is a standard or popular short title, use this.
• If the name of the legislation is 1-3 words long, not including the year, use this name. Eg for the Crimes Act 1900 (NSW) the short title entered into EndNote would be Crimes Act.
• If the name of the legislation or treaty is long, use a few distinguishing words or use the initials of the words in the title (see examples in the AGLC).
• Make sure all your short titles are different. For example if you are citing the Crimes Act 1900 (NSW) and the Crimes Act 1958 (Vic) in your document, you will need to add extra information to the short titles, which would be something like Crimes Act 1900 and Crimes Act 1958.

For other legal materials, you should consult the AGLC for guidance about the form of short titles.

Pinpoints

Pinpoints are added by EndNote to citations in footnotes in AGLC in the same way as for citations in other styles:

• Select the citation in the footnote
• Choose Edit & Manage Citations in the EndNote tab
• The Edit Citation window opens. You'll see the selected citation highlighted in the top half of the window. If the citation was part of a group of citations, make sure you choose the correct one from the listed group in the top half of the window.
• If your pinpoint is a page number or a range of page numbers, just add the numbers to the Pages box in the lower half of the window. For example: 6 or 6-7 or 6, 8, 10.
• If your pinpoint is a paragraph number or range of paragraph numbers, add the numbers enclosed in square brackets to the Pages box. For example: [6] or [6]-[7] or [6], [8], [10].
• If your pinpoint is to a section, clause or article number etc, add the abbreviations for these into the Pages box, followed by the numbers. For example: s 6 or ss 6-7 or cl 6, 8, 10 or art 31.1.

Repeated Citations in Different Footnotes

Repeated citations in consecutive footnotes

EndNote will automatically convert such repeated citations to Ibid, as required by AGLC rules. You can add pinpoints to the Ibid if you wish, in the same way you add them to a normal citation.

If you add a footnote in between two footnotes, where the second one is an Ibid, and then add a different citation to the middle footnote, the Ibid will revert to non-consecutive repeated citation format, as it should.

Repeated citations in non-consecutive footnotes

It is quite common to cite a reference in several different, non-consecutive footnotes. AGLC handles this in quite a complex way, and EndNote therefore has to be a bit complicated here too. The AGLC rule is:

• If the reference has authors, all repeated non-consecutive citations will use the surnames of these authors plus (n #) where the # is the number of the footnote where the reference was first cited in the document.
• If the reference does not have authors, all repeated non-consecutive citations will use the reference's short title (see the Short Title section above), also followed by (n #) where # is the number of the footnote where it was first cited.

EndNote knows about these rules, but it doesn't know what the required first footnote number is, so when you insert a reference that has been cited earlier (but not in the directly preceding footnote) you will get either one of:

• Surnames (n
• Short Title (n

In both cases, to add the number of the first citing footnote, leave the cursor in the footnote just after the (n  and click on References > Cross-reference (Windows) or Insert > Cross-reference (Mac). Below is the image for Windows:

The Cross-reference window will open (see image above).

• Select Footnote from the Reference type drop down menu as shown
• Select from the list of footnotes in the document, the one where your reference was first cited. In our example, the reference we are citing for the second time in footnote 3, Tang, was first cited in footnote 1, so we select footnote 1
• Click Insert at the bottom of the window (you will see the number appear after n in the footnote)
• Select Close at the bottom of the window
• Finally, after the number in the footnote, type a close bracket, then any pinpoint you might want to add, and then a full stop.

Updating cross-references

It is possible that you might add footnotes into your document in such a way as to disturb the order of these cross-references. For example in our example, if you add a footnote before the first citation of Tang, the original footnote number 1 becomes number 2, original 2 becomes 3, original 3 becomes 4 and so on. We now need to change the cross-reference in the repeated footnote from (n 1) to (n 2). There may be many other cross-references to many other footnotes that will also need to be changed.

Luckily the cross-reference feature in Word allows this to be done easily. It can be done at any time, as often as you like, and should certainly be done just before you submit a document for publication or marking.

• Click onto any footnote in your document, and press Control + A (Windows) or Command + A (Mac). This will select all text in all the footnotes.
• Press the F9 key on your keyboard (Windows) or Command + click and select Update Field (Mac).
• Click Yes to continue.
• All the cross-reference numbers in all the repeated citations will now be updated to the corrected numbers for their first citing footnotes. In our example, (n 1) will be changed to (n 2).

Dividing your Bibliography into Categories

In legal referencing we need to separate our bibliography into categories of references. To do this, in your EndNote tab in Word, select Categorize References > Configure Categories. The following window appears:

• Use the Category Headings plus sign icon to add your category headings. These might be: A Articles/ Books/ Reports, B Cases, C Legislation, and so on, as in the example above
• The list on the right shows all the references in the bibliography. Drag and drop each reference from this list onto its appropriate category
• You can drag and drop references from one category to another, but each reference can only be in one category
• Categories will appear in the bibliography in the order displayed here. You can rearrange the categories, by dragging them up or down here, to change their order in the bibliography
• Within each category, references will be arranged according to the normal rules of your style (in AGLC this will be alphabetical order)
• Categories with no references allotted to them will not appear in the bibliography
• References in the document that have not been allocated to a category appear in a temporary category called Uncategorized References. Once you allocate these to a category, this temporary category disappears.