Finding sources for service design
Resources in the area of design management and service design crosses both Design, Sociology and Management areas. Finding sources in these areas may require research across several areas to gather all the evidence / information you need.
Below are tips for searching in suggested books, databases and journals for sources on service design.
Books
Use the Library Catalogue to search online for books & ebooks as well as other resources like articles, chapters and audiovisual material.
You can also browse for books physically in the Library.
Watch the video to learn how to use the Library Catalogue.
Suggested Books:
Participatory Practice in Space, Place, and Service Design by ISBN: 9781648891908Publication Date: 2022-09-06
The Library uses the Dewey Decimal System to organise books by topic.
Because service design crosses Design, Sociology and Management areas, you should look under these topic areas for books related to service design. To do this, look at books with the following 'call numbers' on the library shevles.
745 – design aspects
658 – management
300 – sociology
Databases
Design databases
- JSTOR JSTOR contains full text journal articles, books & book chapters. The information in this databases covers many areas.
- ProQuest the Arts A database for books, journal articles and more, covering the subjects of art, design, social science & music.
- Design and Applied Arts Index The DAAI contains research that delves more into the the application of design and related areas.
Business databases
- ProQuest Business Provides access to articles from business-related academic journals, trade publications and magazines.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Provides full-text access to key business-related publications from around the world including academic journals, magazines and trade publications.
- Henry Stewart Talks: Business & management collection Audiovisual presentations aimed at marketing, advertising, media, health, government and communications managers, specialists and students.
Journals
Design journals
- Design Issues Design Issues is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering design history, theory, and criticism.
- Systems Research & Behavioral Science A scientific journal for theory and research in the fields of systems sciences.
- Journal of Design Research JDR is an interdisciplinary journal, emphasising human aspects as a central issue of design through integrative studies of social sciences and design disciplines
- Touchpoint: Journal of Service Design A free web journal that contains a comprehensive collection of articles, cases and interviews from an international array of service design experts.
Business journals
- Journal of Operations Management Contains operations and supply chain management research that demonstrates both academic and practical relevance
- Journal of Service Management JOSM focuses on service management research.
- Harvard Business Review (HBR) A leading business magazine covering strategy, leadership, innovation and general finance and economics-related topics.
- Forbes Magazine American business magazine featuring articles on finance, industry, investing, and marketing topics.
Search tips
Keywords
Sometimes different terminology can be used to refer to similar things (e.g. “design futuring” in Business research is referred to as just ‘futuring’). When you’re searching for information it’s a good idea to know what these alternate or related terms are so you don’t miss anything in your search.
Similar terms:
-
Service design
-
System design
-
Service science
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.