Welcome
This guide will help you find the information you need for Design Studies subjects and design research, including:
- Researching Design Histories
- Design Honours
- Master of Design
Key resources for Design
Academic sources
- Library Catalogue The Library Catalogue is a good place to start your search. You can find many different information types in the one search.
- ProQuest the Arts A database for books, journal articles and more, covering the subjects of art, design, social science & music.
- ProQuest eBook Central Delivers ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
- Academic Search Complete Multi-subject database
Images, artwork & artefacts
- Google Arts & Culture Contains images, artwork & exhibits from around the world.
- Oxford Art Online An encyclopedia of art-related subjects & topics. It also includes images.
- Europeana Museum, gallery, library and archive collections from around Europe.
- Digital Public Library of America Millions of images & online exhibits of from America.
Resource types
Books
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Journal Articles
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Images
Images encompass a wide range of different types, including artwork, photographs, building plans & graphs. Different styles of images include stock images, artefacts, exhibits, infographics and more.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.