What is a standard?
A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose. - International Standards Organization, ISO.
Finding standards
UTS Library has a number of standards in our collection, including all Australian and some ISO standards.
The best way to find print standards is using the library catalogue.
If the standard is not available in the Library Catalogue, please try the databases listed below. If you have difficulty in finding a standard, please contact a librarian.
Australian Standards
- Australian Standards Online Provides the complete collection of current Australian standards and a part of ISO standards. From the 1st of July 2020, access to standards has be changed. You are required to register your name and UTS email address, then authenticate in order to download, save or print a standard. You will still be able to view standards as read only without registering your details.
- National Construction Codes Formerly known as the Building Code of Australia, this website contains Volumes 1 and 2 of the Construction code (covering domestic and industrial buildings), plumbing and drainage codes and more. They are free to access, but you need to register with NCC to view.
- Acumen Acumen is a professional practice resource for architects. It contains notes on how to operate an architectural practice, run building projects, and how to design and build sustainably
- Australian Vehicle Design Rules The Australian Design Rules (ADRs) are national standards for vehicle safety, anti-theft and emissions.
- Austroads Guide to Road Design The Austroads Guide to Road Design provides designers with a framework that promotes efficiency in design and construction, economy, and both consistency and safety for road users.
- Food Standards Code The standards in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code are legislative instruments under the Legislation Act 2003.
A Google search will find more open-access standards used in different industries in Australia.
International Standards
- British Standards Online UTS Library has full text access to the BSI online: Construction-general standards module only.
Australian Standards Online: A guide for users
Standards are subject to licensing and restrictions and are accessible through select databases. To access Standards Australia, users need to create an individual account on i2i (the Standards Australia platform) with their university email address to access Standards files. These files can be printed or downloaded but will include digital rights management (DRM) features and watermarks to prevent unauthorised sharing.
- Australian Standards Online Provides the complete collection of current Australian standards and a part of ISO standards. From the 1st of July 2020, access to standards has be changed. You are required to register your name and UTS email address, then authenticate in order to download, save or print a standard. You will still be able to view standards as read only without registering your details.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.