Engineering Management: Finding Industry Information

These guides provide an introduction to key resources available for Engineering Management.

Industry reports & statistics for Engineering & IT

Gartner Gartner is an industry-leading consulting firm providing independent research and analysis on a wide range of Information Technology topics.
IBIS World Provides a good overview for Australian industries and companies.
Marketline Advantage Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion.
Australian Bureau of Statistics The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.
Statista Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Patents for Engineering & IT

AusPat (Australian PO) Search Australian patents. IP Australia also provides a paid service for patent analytics reports.
Patentscope (WIPO) The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.
esp@cenet Espacenet contains data on more than 120 million patent documents from around the world from 1782 to today.
USPTO USPTO has the most up-to-date set of US patents and patent applications, published every Tuesday.
Google Patent Search Google Patents is a search engine from Google that indexes more than 87 million patents and patent applications with full text from 17 patent offices.

Standards & Manuals for Engineering & IT

Standards Australia Standards Australia contains Australian standards as well as some international and ISO standards, including ones with quality management and project management
Acumen Acumen is a professional practice resource for architects. It contains notes on how to operate an architectural practice, run building projects, and how to design and build sustainably
ASME Standards - Boiler Pressure Vessel Code Provides full-text access to Boiler Pressure Vessel Code standards from The American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
ASTM Standards Source Online ASTM's 12,500+ standards cover metals, petroleum, construction, environment and more from the American Society for Testing Materials.
Australian Vehicle Design Rules The Australian Design Rules (ADRs) are national standards for vehicle safety, anti-theft and emissions.
Austroads Guide to Road Design The Austroads Guide to Road Design provides designers with a framework that promotes efficiency in design and construction, economy, and both consistency and safety for road users.
British Standards Online UTS Library has full text access to the BSI online: Construction-general standards module only.
IEEE Standards Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Standards available from IEEE Xplore database.
National Construction Codes Formerly known as the Building Code of Australia, this website contains Volumes 1 and 2 of the Construction code (covering domestic and industrial buildings), plumbing, drainage codes and more. They are free to access, but you need to register with NCC to view.

Government & organisation websites

Government and some nonprofit organisation websites can be helpful by providing relevant facts and information on your topic, e.g. industry news and legislations.

Engineers Australia Engineers Australia is the trusted voice of the profession. We are the global home for engineering professionals renowned as leaders in shaping a sustainable world.
Engineers without Borders, Australia A community organisation that creates social value through engineering. Through partnerships and collaboration we’ve focused on developing skills, knowledge and appropriate engineering solutions since 2003.
Department of Industry and Science Australia The Department of Industry, Innovation and Science is a department of the Australian Government responsible for consolidating the Government’s efforts to drive economic growth, productivity and competitiveness by bringing together industry, energy, resources and science

Last Updated: May 13, 2025 12:41 PM
URL: https://studyguides.lib.uts.edu.au/engineeringmanagement
Print Page

Subjects: Engineering and IT

Tags: APA 7th, books, company information, EndNote, engineering, management, project management, RefWorks