Animating techniques
To find resources to help develop your animation skills, search keywords on the specific techniques or areas you want to improve in (e.g. drawing, computer animation, visual design, visual effects, cinematography).
Keywords for Animation:
- Animation, Animation films, computer animation, computer graphics
For handbooks & guides, search in the Library Catalogue. For video tutorials, search in the LinkedIn Learning database.
- Library Catalogue Search in the Library Catalogue for the techniques or theory that you're interested in (e.g. colour theory, visual space, computer animation).
- LinkedIn Learning Login with your UTS details and search for what you want to learn.
Suggested resources
Below are some suggestions for books & tutorials for some of the key animation techniques.
Keywords to search:
- Storytelling, Narrative, Storyboarding, Writing
LinkedIn Learning Tutorials:
- Animation Foundations: Storyboarding
- Animate CC: Storyboarding
- Essentials of Storyboarding
- Storyboarding an animation
Books:
Suggested Books:
Animated Storytelling by
Animation is a limitless medium for telling stories. Artists can create worlds, defy gravity, flip from factual to fantasy, and transport audiences to places they never imagined. The challenge is having the discipline to reel it in and be intentional about your storytelling choices. This book shows you how. In Animated Storytelling, you'll learn how to create memorable stories using animation and motion graphics by following 10 simple guidelines that take you through the stages of concept development, pre-production, storyboarding, and design. Award-winning animator Liz Blazer uses clear examples and easy-to-follow exercises to provide you with the instruction, encouragement, and tools you need to get your designs moving. Whether your goal is to create exciting shorts for film festivals, effective messaging for broadcast or online, or simply to gain a deeper understanding of the medium, Animated Storytelling simplifies the process of creating clear and engaging stories for animation and motion graphics so you can get started easily. In Animated Storytelling, you'll learn how to: Write a creative brief for your project Find and communicate your story's big idea Create a tight story using linear and nonlinear story structures Use color to clarify and enrich your story Define the rules for your animated world, and commit to them Ease into the challenging task of animation Make the work you want to be hired to do Share your work with the world!
ISBN: 9780134133652Publication Date: 2015-11-19
Lighting for Animation by
Lighting for Animation　is designed with one goal in mind - to make you a better artist. Over the course of the book, Jasmine Katatikarn and Michael Tanzillo (Senior Lighting TDs, Blue Sky Studios) will train your eye to analyze your work more critically, and teach you approaches and techniques to improve your craft. Focusing on the main philosophies and core concepts utilized by industry professionals, this book builds the foundation for a successful career as a lighting artist in visual effects and computer animation. Inside you'll find in-depth instruction on: 　 * Creating mood and storytelling through lighting * Using light to create visual shaping * Directing the viewer's eye with light and color * Gathering and utilizing reference images * Successfully lighting and rendering workflows * Render layers and how they can be used most effectively * Specific lighting scenarios, including character lighting, environment lighting, and lighting an animated sequence * Material properties and their work with lighting * Compositing techniques essential for a lighter * A guide on how to start your career and achieve success as a lighting artist 　 This book is not designed to teach software packages--there are websites, instructional manuals, online demos, and traditional courses available to teach you how to operate specific computer programs.　 That type of training will teach you how to create an ℑ this book will teach you the technical skills you need to make that image beautiful.　 Key Features Stunning examples from a variety of films serve to inspire and inform your creative choices. Unique approach focuses on using lighting as a storytelling tool, rather than just telling you which buttons to press. Comprehensive companion website contains lighting exercises, assets, challenges, and further resources to help you expand your skillset.
ISBN: 1317699947Publication Date: 2016-12-19
Directing the Story by
Francis Glebas, a top Disney storyboard artist, shows how to reach the ultimate goal of animation and moviemaking by showing how to provide audiences with an emotionally satisfying experience. Directing the Story offers a structural approach to clearly and dramatically presenting visual stories. With Francis' help you'll discover the professional storytelling techniques which have swept away generations of movie goers and kept them coming back for more. You'll also learn to spot potential problems before they cost you time or money and offers creative solutions to solve them. Best of all, it practices what it preaches, using a graphic novel format to demonstrate the professional visual storytelling techniques you need to know.
ISBN: 1136138692Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Storytelling Through Animation by
As an animator, it's difficult to watch movies or animated films without thinking about the directing quality or technical aspects of the production. But when that movie pulls you in and draws you to the characters and their plights, you really experience the story.Storytelling Through Animation provides an in-depth guide to the process of conceiving, planning, and producing an animated or live action media production. It covers specific information for many forms of visuals, including traditional cel, stop motion, Flash, or 3D CG with a focus on the most critical aspect of any production- the story. The book is written for filmmakers, animators, producers, editors, directors, game creators, and anyone who has the task of telling a story visually. It teaches the principles, real-world techniques, tricks, tips, and creative and visual fundamentals key to great animated storytelling. Using detailed explanations of principles and techniques and a variety of film examples, it guides animators through every step of the production process, and teaches them how to infuse their story and develop emotional connections in every part of the production. It provides systems and checks and balances that can make projects smoother and storytelling better at any level or budget. In addition, it explores all of the concepts and techniques needed for animation, including visual theory, motion, animation techniques, and their live action counterparts, character animation, composition, production, lighting, rendering, editing, and compositing. Finally, the book helps to create critical and realistic critiquing skills for evaluating and creating emotional connections with the audience. After reading this book, animators will have the knowledge and skills needed to tell their own visual stories.
ISBN: 1584503947Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Writing for Animation, Comics, and Games by
Writing for Animation, Comics, and Games explains the practical aspects of creating scripts for animation, comics, graphic novels, and computer games. It details how you can create scripts that are in the right industry format, and follow the expected rules for you to put your best foot forward to help you break-in to the trade. This book explains approaches to writing for exterior storytelling (animation, games); interior/exterior storytelling (comics and graphic novels), as well as considerations for non-linear computer games in the shortest, pithiest, and most economical way. The author offers insider's advice on how you can present work as professional, how to meet deadlines, how visual writing differs from prose, and the art of collaboration.
ISBN: 1136144455Publication Date: 2012-11-12
Professional Storyboarding by
Storyboarding is a very tough business, and a new storyboarder really needs to have their wits about them and have professional savvy to survive in this competitive field. Storyboarding: Rules of Thumb offers highly illustrative examples of basic storyboarding concepts, as well as sound, career-oriented advice for the new artist. This book also features a number of veteran storyboard artists sharing their experiences in the professional world.
ISBN: 1138428485Publication Date: 2017-08-09
Keywords to search:
- Computer graphics, Computer animation, Three-dimensional display systems, Modelling, Rigging, 3D, 2D
LinkedIn Learning Tutorials:
- Become a 3D Character Animator
- 3D Animation and Rigging
- Master 2D Animation
- Creating Smooth Motion in Animation
- Rigging a Quadruped in Maya
- Maya: Facial rigging
- Vehicle Rigging in Maya
- Rigging a Cartoon Character in Maya
- Rigging for Animation
Books:
The Art Of 3D computer animation and effects by
An insightful, up-to-date look at creating in the digital environment In a practical, easy-to-understand format, The Art of 3-D Computer Animation and Effects covers every aspect of creating and outputting fully rendered three-dimensional computer still images or animations, including visual effects for live action. Along with helpful insights into the newest techniques available in the latest software programs and hardware, this new edition provides solid conceptual and critical basics through a combination of technical explanations and creative techniques. Creative vision can be brought to life on the screen through an easy-to-understand, step-by-step approach supported by full-color sample work by such leading companies as Pixar Animation Studios, Square, DreamWorks SKG, Fox, Disney, and many independent artists and studios. Isaac Victor Kerlow (Los Angeles, CA) is Director of Digital Production at the Walt Disney Company and a longtime active member of SIGGRAPH and the Visual Effects Society.
ISBN: 0471430366Publication Date: 2003-08-12
3-D Human Modeling and Animation by
Completely updated the head-to-toe guide to creating animated human characters Now featuring a new full-color format and a companion CD with tutorials for students and self-learners alike, 3-D Human Modeling and Animation, Third Edition demonstrates how readers can use their artistic skills to create convincing digital characters. More than 500 images illustrate every step in the process and the accompanying Quicktime tutorials demonstrate the process of modeling, texturing, lighting, and animating the human figure. Peter Ratner (Harrisonburg, VA) is a professor of 3-D computer animation in the School of Art and Art History at James Madison University where he founded the computer animation program. Besides teaching and writing books, he has exhibited his oil paintings, animations, and computer graphics in numerous national and international juried exhibitions.
ISBN: 9780470396674Publication Date: 2009-05-05
Guide to Computer Animation by
Any questions you have about 2D or 3D animation in this new digital age are answered in this comprehensive guide for all budding digital animators, games artists and media production students. It is lavishly illustrated with inspirational colour throughout to show you what you can achieve. Whether you want to create moving digital imagery for TV, computer games, or new media you need to understand the production and creative processes, the constraints of each and how they fit together. Ensure you have all you need at your fingertips to compete in this fast-moving arena with this unique book and web package. www.guide2computeranimation.com provides the moving imagery outcomes of some of the animation discussed in the case studies chapter, where top FrameStore-CRC and 3 Ring Circus creatives give you their invaluable behind the scenes perspectives. In addition there are non-software specific 3D tutorials and direct links to a comprehensive range of related websites with further downloadable resources to make sure you stay up-to-date. Marcia Kuperberg is Deputy Head of the School of Media, Arts & Technology, West Herts College, UK. Contributions are also included from Martin Bowman, Rob Manton and Alan Peacock.
ISBN: 9780240516714Publication Date: 2002-04-17
3D Animation Essentials by
The essential fundamentals of 3D animation for aspiring 3D artists 3D is everywhere--video games, movie and television special effects, mobile devices, etc. Many aspiring artists and animators have grown up with 3D and computers, and naturally gravitate to this field as their area of interest. Bringing a blend of studio and classroom experience to offer you thorough coverage of the 3D animation industry, this must-have book shows you what it takes to create compelling and realistic 3D imagery. Serves as the first step to understanding the language of 3D and computer graphics (CG) Covers 3D animation basics: pre-production, modeling, animation, rendering, and post-production Dissects core 3D concepts including design, film, video, and games Examines what artistic and technical skills are needed to succeed in the industry Offers helpful real-world scenarios and informative interviews with key educators and studio and industry professionals Whether you're considering a career in as a 3D artist or simply wish to expand your understanding of general CG principles, this book will give you a great overview and knowledge of core 3D Animation concepts and the industry.
ISBN: 1118239059Publication Date: 2012-01-25
Character Animation Fundamentals by
Expand your animation toolkit and remain competitive in the industry with this leading resource for 2D and 3D character animation techniques. Apply the industry's best practices to your own workflows and develop 2D, 3D and hybrid characters with ease. With side by side comparisons of 2D and 3D character design, improve your character animation and master traditional principles and processes including weight and balance, timing and walks. Develop characters inspired by humans, birds, fish, snakes and four legged animals. Breathe life into your character and develop a characters personality with chapters on acting, voice-synching and facial expressions. Expertly integrate core animation techniques with your software of choice featuring step-by-step tutorials, highlighting 3ds Max, Maya and Blender workflows. Adapt the tips, tricks and techniques for unique projects like character design for rotoscoping and motion capture. Advance beyond the fundamentals of 2D and 3D character animation with the companion website which includes short demonstration movies, 2D and 3D exercises and fully rigged character models.
ISBN: 1138403091Publication Date: 2017-07-27
Keywords to search:
- Sound, Animation (Cinematography), sound effects
LinkedIn Learning Tutorials:
- Adding sound to animations
- Voice-Over for Video and Animation
- Expressing animations to sound
Books:
Designing Sound for Animation by
Sound is just as crucial an aspect to your animation as your visuals. Whether you're looking to create a score, ambient noise, dialog, or a complete soundtrack, you'll need sound for your piece. This nuts-and-bolts guide to sound design for animation will explain to you the theory and workings behind sound for image, and provide an overview of the stems and production path to help you create your soundtrack. Follow the sound design process along animated shorts and learn how to use the tools and techniques of the trade. Enhance your piece and learn how to design sound for animation.
ISBN: 1136143815Publication Date: 2013-03-20
The Animator's Eye by
Enhance your animated features and shorts with this polished guide to channeling your vision and imagination from a former Disney animator and director. Learn how to become a strong visual storyteller through better use of color, volume, shape, shadow, and light - as well as discover how to tap into your imagination and refine your own personal vision. Francis Glebas, the director of Piglet's Big Day, guides you through the animation design process in a way that only years of expertise can provide. Discover how to create unique worlds and compelling characters as well as the difference between real-world and cartoon physics as Francis breaks down animated scenes to show you how and why to layout your animation.
ISBN: 9780240817248Publication Date: 2012-09-24
The Foley Grail by
Master classic and cutting-edge Foley techniques that will allow you to create rich, convincing sound for any medium, be it film, television, radio, podcasts, animation, or games. In The Foley Grail, Second Edition award-winning Foley artist Vanessa Theme Ament teaches you how Foley is designed, crafted, and edited for any project, right down to the nuts and bolts of spotting, cueing, and performing sounds. Various renowned sound artists provide a treasure trove of shortcuts, hot tips, and other tricks of the trade. This new edition features: Entirely new chapters dedicated to Foley in games, television, broadcasting, and animation, as well as what is new in sound for media education All new sound "recipes" that include proven Foley methods you can immediately use on your own projects New case studies from well-known films, shows, games, and animations Interviews with current sound artists from across the globe An extensive companion website (www.focalpress.com/cw/ament) featuring video demonstrations of Foley artists at work, video tutorials of specific Foley techniques, lectures from the author, and much more nbsp;
ISBN: 9780415840859Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Video Resources:
- Video-animation and sound art Paul Fletcher is interested in the relationship between sound and animated motion. He works on individual film and live performance projects, including exploration of the intersection of abstraction and narrative and the invention of custom built audiovisual instruments. The 3 Disc compilations presents a selection of the most significant works of video/animation & sound artist, Paul Fletcher incorporating animation, visual poetry, narrative and sound compositions.
Browse animation books
As well as searching online, you can also browse animation books in the library. This can help you to discover books that you would not have otherwise found. Animation skills books can be found on Level 9 of the Library and also on Level 5, in the Reading Room.
Look at the maps below to see where to find books on animation skills.
Software
To improve your animation software skills, look for...
The Library has a range of books on using animation software such as Adobe Creative Suite & Maya.
- Library CatalogueTry searching: Animation AND (Adobe OR Maya)
Suggested Books:
Search the LinkedIn Learning database for tutorials on animating using different software.
- LinkedIn LearningLogin with your UTS details and search for what you want to learn.
Suggested Tutorials:
- Toon Boom Harmony Essential Training
- Creating 2D Animation in Harmony
- Animating in Maya
- Maya 2018 Essential Training
- Animating in Photoshop
Software available at UTS
- Software on PC A list of software installed on General Access PCs on Campus.
- Software on Mac A list of software installed on the General Access Macs on Campus.
Related Guides
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.