Study Guides: Strategic Communication: Home

Welcome

This guide is for students enrolled in Strategic Communications. It will help you develop the core skills needed to find, evaluate, and reference information in your assessments.

In this guide you will:

Find key resources for Strategic Communications
Know how to access the PRIA Golden Target Awards
Plan a search to find information
Find referencing resources

Key resources for Strategic Communication

Core databases

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Provides full-text access to key business-related publications from around the world including academic journals, magazines and trade publications.
ProQuest A multidisciplinary database, strong in the Social Sciences, Business, the Arts, Architecture, Engineering, Health, Medicine and more. It has a very large holdings of scholarly journals and more.
Communication source (EBSCO) Includes top Communication scholarly journals. Topics covered include: communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields
Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (APAFT) Access to a wide range of Australian content including: newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
WARC Provides access to advertising and marketing information from various sources.

News databases

Factiva A major news database covering sources from around the world including newspapers, business and trade publications.
Newsbank Contains international, national, regional, and local news from across Australia and the world. Complete full-text content of local and regional news.
Informit EduTV Find films that have been shown on free-to-air TV & Australian television content
TVNews Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format.

Company & industry information

DatAnalysis Premium A research tool for information on companies that are listed on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX).
IBISWorld - Company Research Reports Contains informative reports on large Australian companies.

Websites

Communication and Public Relations Australia (CPRA) National industry peak body for public relations and communication professionals in Australia. CPRA represents and provides professional support and recognition to practitioners and consultants nationwide.

Resource types

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

News

Includes broadcasts, editorials and newspaper articles. News sources are a useful source of information for recent or current events or issues, as they and published very quickly (often daily). News sources also provide different perspectives on issues and events.

Reports

Often contain specific information about a particular issue, event, industry area, region, trend or market. Most reports are written by or for governments, organisation or industry areas.

Magazines

Many industries produce magazines that contain articles with insights and discussions of specific industry trends & developments, or showcase new works or innovations from people working in the industry. They can be found online or in print, and can be used to find information about an industry.

Strategic Communication: Home