Study Guides: Digital & Social Media: Home

Welcome

This guide is for students enrolled in Digital and Social Media. It will help you develop the core skills needed to find, evaluate, and reference information in your assessments.

In this guide you will:

Find key resources for Digital and Social Media
Plan a search to find information
Find referencing resources

Key resources for Digital & Social Media

Databases

ProQuest Central Multidisciplinary database covering 160 subject areas including: digital media, news, politics, business and economics; medical and health; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.
Academic Search Complete Multidisciplinary database covering 160 subject areas including: digital media, news, politics, business and economics; medical and health; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.
Communication source (EBSCO) Includes top Communication scholarly journals. Topics covered include: communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields
Humanities Index Indexes articles from over 300 humanities journals and British newspapers.

Journals

Asian Journal of Communication Highlights research on the systems and processes of communication in the Asia-Pacific region and among Asian communities around the world to a wide international audience. It publishes articles that report empirical studies, develop communication theory, and enhance research methodology.
Big Data & Society A peer-reviewed scholarly journal that publishes work principally in the social sciences, humanities, and computing and their intersections with the arts and natural sciences about the implications of Big Data for societies.
Communication, Culture & Critique Provides critical research in communication, media, and cultural studies. CCC seeks to bring a diversity of critical approaches (political economy, feminist analysis, critical race theory, postcolonial critique, cultural studies, queer theory) to bear on the role of communication, media, and culture in power dynamics on a global scale.
Computers in Human Behavior A scholarly journal dedicated to examining the use of computers from a psychological perspective. The journal addresses both the use of computers in psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines as well as the psychological impact of computer use on individuals, groups and society.
Information, Communication & Society Publishes the most current work on the social, economic, and cultural impact of the emerging properties of new information and communication technologies.
International Journal of Communication Interdisciplinary journal that, while centered in communication, is open and welcoming to contributions from the many disciplines and approaches that meet at the crossroads that is communication study.
Media International Australia Peer-reviewed journal publishing scholarly research and reviews about media, telecommunications and cultural industries, policies and practices that are primarily focused on Australia and New Zealand.
New Media & Society An international journal that provides an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change.
Political Communication Articles and reviews about political thought and ideology, propaganda, political marketing, campaign communication, media relations, and comparative and international political communication.
Social Media + Society A peer-reviewed, open access journal that focuses on advancing the understanding of social media and its impact on societies past, present and future.

Resource types

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Images

Images encompass a wide range of different types, including artwork, photographs, building plans & graphs. Different styles of images include stock images, artefacts, exhibits, infographics and more.

News

Includes broadcasts, editorials and newspaper articles. News sources are a useful source of information for recent or current events or issues, as they and published very quickly (often daily). News sources also provide different perspectives on issues and events.

Multimedia

Depending on your course, major or specialty, this could include creative works (e.g. films, music, audio tracks) or non-creative works (e.g. news broadcasts, online tutorials, animations or visualisations).

Grey Literature

The term grey literature refers to published and unpublished research, such as reports, government documents, and presentations which you can find simply through Google!
Check out the Grey Literature guide for more information.

Reports

Often contain specific information about a particular issue, event, industry area, region, trend or market. Most reports are written by or for governments, organisation or industry areas.

Digital & Social Media: Home