Study Guides: Journalism: Home

Welcome!

This guide is for students enrolled in Journalism. It will help you develop the core skills needed to find, evaluate, and reference information in your assessments.

In this guide you will:

Find key resources for Journalism
Plan a search to find information
Understand how to evaluate different sources
Find referencing resources

Key resources for Journalism

Core databases

Communication Source (EBSCO) Includes top Communication scholarly journals. Topics covered include: communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields
ProQuest Central Multidisciplinary database covering 160 subject areas including: digital media, news, politics, business and economics; medical and health; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.
APAFT - Australian Public Affairs Full Text Access to a wide range of Australian content including: newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Sage Journals Online Access to approximately 480 peer-reviewed full-text journals published by Sage Publications. Topics include, media, journalism and communications
Informit Complete Main source of Australasian scholarly research to the education, research and business sectors.

News databases

Factiva Australian and International newspapers and business & trade publications.
NewsBank full-text newspapers Contains international, national, regional, and local news from across Australia and the world.
Informit EduTV An online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions.
TVNews Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format.
Trove Access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collections. Includes historic digitised materials such as magazines, newspapers, maps, diaries and more

Company & industry information

IBIS World. Industry research reports Access to selected Australian industry reports through the Industry Service.
MarketLine Advantage Provides access to company, industry, and country information.
DatAnalysis premium A premier research tool for ASX company data it includes comprehensive data on all companies listed on ASX as well as companies delisted since 1990, including financial information.
Orbis Provides comprehensive information on both public and private companies and industries worldwide.

Websites

Australian Communication and Media Authority Australian Government statutory authority within the Communications portfolio.
Australian Press Council Responsible for promoting good standards of media practice, community access to information of public interest, and freedom of expression through the media.

Resource types

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

News

Includes broadcasts, editorials and newspaper articles. News sources are a useful source of information for recent or current events or issues, as they and published very quickly (often daily). News sources also provide different perspectives on issues and events.

Reports

Often contain specific information about a particular issue, event, industry area, region, trend or market. Most reports are written by or for governments, organisation or industry areas.

Multimedia

Depending on your course, major or specialty, this could include creative works (e.g. films, music, audio tracks) or non-creative works (e.g. news broadcasts, online tutorials, animations or visualisations).

Magazines

Many industries produce magazines that contain articles with insights and discussions of specific industry trends & developments, or showcase new works or innovations from people working in the industry. They can be found online or in print, and can be used to find information about an industry.

Images

Images encompass a wide range of different types, including artwork, photographs, building plans & graphs. Different styles of images include stock images, artefacts, exhibits, infographics and more.

Journalism: Home