Study Guides: Taxation Law: Other Useful Resources

Newspapers are a great source if you are looking for current or historical information, trends and opinions on a particular topic.

Many newspapers publish special issues, columns or analysis on finance and economics-related issues.

You can search individual newspapers from our library catalogue, or search across multiple newspapers using a database.

The Australian Financial Review (AFR) An excellent source for Australian finance and economics news and analysis.
The Australian A major national newspaper with in-depth coverage on finance and economics-related issues.
The Sydney Morning Herald A major Sydney-based newspaper.
The Age A major Melbourne-based newspaper.
The Canberra Times A canberra-based newspaper with great coverage on federal politics, budget and national economic matters.

The New York Times An influential and widely-read newspaper from the United States.
The Wall Street Journal One of the largest business-focused newspaper from the United States.
Financial Times (FT) An international newspaper on business and economic current affairs. Our subscription is delayed by 1 month due to the publisher's embargo.
The Sunday Times (London) A major newspaper from the United Kingdom.
International Business Times (IBTimes) A global news publication that delivers international business news.
Reuters One of the world's largest providers of business and financial news.

Factiva is a major news database which provides access to thousands of newspapers, business and trade publications from around the world.

Websites, blogs and podcasts can be great sources for information on the latest trends and developments in your discipline area.

These websites may help you to stay up-to-date on what's happening on issues relating to your discipline area:

Australian Taxation Office (ATO) Official website of the Australian Taxation Office (ATO)
Australian Taxation Office (ATO) - Tax and Superannuation Statistics Tax and superannuation statistics by the ATO
ATO Advice and Guidance Step-by-step guidance documents from the ATO that explain how the law operates generally.
ATO Legal Database Find law, interpretations and policy that the ATO uses when making decisions.
The Board of Taxation The Board advises the government on a range of taxation issues and changes to the tax system.
The Tax Institute Australian professional association and educator in tax.
Australian Government - The Treasury Provides economic analysis and policy advice on fiscal, economic and taxation related issues.
Parliamentary Budget Office Provides independent and non-partisan analysis of the budget cycle, fiscal policy and the financial implications of proposals.
Australian Parliament - House of Representatives - Standing Committee on Tax and Revenue Provides access to current and past enquiries on tax and revenue.

Blogs are online journals/diaries and can be useful to understand how people are thinking or reflecting on the latest trends and developments.

Austaxpolicy - Tax and Transfer Policy Institute, Crawford School of Public Policy (ANU) Research and analysis on tax, welfare system, budget policy and public finance.
The Tax Institute Blog Blog by the Tax Institute, covering tax and budget-related matters.
PwC Tax Updates Tax insights and publications from PwC.
Australian Taxation Office (ATO) - Small Business Newsroom ATO subsite for small business - contains posts about GST and Super.

Listening to podcasts is an easy way of staying abreast with latest trends and developments on your chosen topic.

Two Drunk Accountants Podcasts by two practising accountants (with a sense of humour).
ATO Tax inVoice Official podcast of the Australian Taxation Office (ATO).
Tax Yak Podcast series on Australian taxation and tax policies.
Tax Talks Podcast for Australian accountants covering tax news.
Tax Wrap Provides professional insights through informed discussion about current issues in tax and super.

In addition to databases, Google Scholar can be a useful tool for general, broad searches for journal articles and conference papers.

Google Scholar Add ‘UTS Library’ under 'Google Scholar > Settings > Library Link' to access articles that are available through our subscriptions.

Taxation Law: Other Useful Resources