Study Guides: Project Management: Home

Welcome

This guide will help project management students find the information they need for their studies.

In this guide you will:

Find key resources for project management.
Plan a search to find information for a sample assignment question
Find referencing resources

Click the Plan Your Search Link to move to the next page of the guide, or use the menu to navigate to the page of the guide you need.

Plan Your Search

Key resources

Literature

ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is great for journal article content in the field of project management, as well as covering management topics more generally.
ProQuest ProQuest is a multidisciplinary database that contains books, journal articles, news and more. It's good for management topics, but the collection is slightly less focused on project management than ScienceDirect
Taylor and Francis Online Journals Taylor and Francis contains a rich collection of high quality academic writing on management topics, including aspects of project management. It's also good if you are looking for Australian content

Specialist

PMBOK Guide The Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) guide is a handbook containing standard terminology and guidelines for project management. The 6th edition is the most current, and is available online
Standards Australia Standards Australia contains Australian standards as well as some international and ISO standards, including ones to to with quality management and project management
Factiva A major news database covering sources from around the world including newspapers, business and trade publications.

Resource types

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Reports

Often contain specific information about a particular issue, event, industry area, region, trend or market. Most reports are written by or for governments, organisation or industry areas.

Project Management: Home