Study Guides: Music & Sound Design: Home

Welcome

This guide is for students enrolled in Music and Sound design. It will help you develop the core skills needed to find, evaluate and reference information in your assessments.

In this guide you will:

Find key resources for Music and Sound Design
Plan a search to find information
Find referencing resources

Key resources for Music and Sound Design

Databases

Project Muse A database good for finding books and journal articles in the areas of social science, history, literature & arts.
IEEE Xplore Provides journal articles, magazines, books, conference proceedings and standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
ProQuest Central Multidisciplinary database covering 160 subject areas including: digital media, news, politics, business and economics; medical and health; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.
ACM digital library Provides journal articles and conference papers published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
JSTOR JSTOR contains full text journal articles, books & book chapters. The information in this databases covers many areas.
Google Scholar Google scholar is a multidisciplinary database.

Other Resources

LinkedIn Learning Login with your UTS details and search for what you want to learn.
Library Catalogue The Library Catalogue is a good place to start your search. You can find many different information types in the one search.

Tip:

When using Google Scholar ensure that you can access artcles by updating the Google settings on your device:

Google Scholar > Settings >Library Links to "Full text @ UTS Library"

Resource types

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Multimedia

Depending on your course, major or specialty, this could include creative works (e.g. films, music, audio tracks) or non-creative works (e.g. news broadcasts, online tutorials, animations or visualisations).

Magazines

Many industries produce magazines that contain articles with insights and discussions of specific industry trends & developments, or showcase new works or innovations from people working in the industry. They can be found online or in print, and can be used to find information about an industry.

Music & Sound Design: Home