Industry reports & statistics for Engineering & IT
- Gartner Gartner is an industry-leading consulting firm providing independent research and analysis on a wide range of Information Technology topics.
- IBIS World Provides a good overview for Australian industries and companies.
- Marketline Advantage Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion.
- Australian Bureau of Statistics The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.
- Statista Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Patents for Engineering & IT
- AusPat (Australian PO) Search Australian patents. IP Australia also provides a paid service for patent analytics reports.
- Patentscope (WIPO) The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.
- esp@cenet Espacenet contains data on more than 120 million patent documents from around the world from 1782 to today.
- USPTO USPTO has the most up-to-date set of US patents and patent applications, published every Tuesday.
- Google Patent Search Google Patents is a search engine from Google that indexes more than 87 million patents and patent applications with full text from 17 patent offices.
Standards & manuals
Standards are official publications used in industry and trade to describe specifications and procedures.
- Standards Australia (Online) Provides the complete collection of current Australian standards.
- Australian Design Rules The Australian Design Rules (ADRs) are national standards for vehicle safety, anti-theft and emissions.
- ASTM Standards Source Online ASTM's 12,500+ standards cover metals, petroleum, construction, environment and more from the American Society for Testing Materials.
- ASME Standards - Boiler Pressure Vessel Code Provides full-text access to Boiler Pressure Vessel Code standards from The American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
- British Standards Online UTS Library has full text access to the BSI online: Construction-general standards module only.
- IEEE Standards Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Standards available from IEEE Xplore database.
Government & organisation websites
Government and some nonprofit organisation websites can be helpful by providing relevant facts and information on your topic, e.g. industry news and legislation.
- Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre (AMGC) AMGC is an industry-led, not-for-profit organisation and is run by a board and management team of industry experts. It is connected with a nationwide network of Australian manufacturers, universities and research institutions, and export hubs.
- Australia Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications The department provides policy advice to the Minister and delivers a variety of programs on behalf of the Australian Government.
- Engineers Australia Engineers Australia provides its members with a foundation of history, governance and commitment, and builds benefits for the profession and its practitioners.
- Australian Renewable Energy Agency ARENA was established by the Australian Government on 1 July 2012. ARENA has a goal to increase the supply and improve the competitiveness of renewable energy technologies.
- Australian Robotics and Automation Association The Australian Robotics and Automation Association Inc. is a professional society in Australia and New Zealand that is concerned with robots, their applications and their implications, and related automation technologies.
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) ASME is a not-for-profit membership organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing and skills development across all engineering disciplines.
- Institution of Transportation Engineers ITE provides the global community of transportation professionals with the knowledge, practices, skills and connections to serve the needs of their communities and help shape the future of the profession and transportation in the societal context.
- IEEE Robotics and Automation Society The IEEE Robotics and Automation Society's objectives are scientific, literary and educational in character.
Technical reports
- NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) Provides access to US Federal government technical reports in science and technology. It indexes about 2,000,000 reports and currently provides access to PDF copies of some 800,000 reports published since 1995.
- OSTI.GOV Gateway to decades of US Department of Energy technical reports and other publications.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.