Welcome
This guide is for students enrolled in Media Arts & Production. It will help you develop the core skills needed to find, evaluate, and reference information in your assessments.
In this guide you will:
- Find key resources for Media Arts and Production
- Plan a search to find information
- Find referencing resources
Key resources for Media Arts & Production
Databases
- Academic Search Complete Subject coverage includes the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Engineering, Business and Management.
- Communication Source (EBSCO) Offers publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Back file coverage includes top titles in communication reaching deep into the 20th century.
- ARTstor Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Permitted Users can search, view, and download images.
- ProQuest Central Covers current and international content in over 160 subject areas such as: news and world affairs; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.
- Australian Film Television and Radio School Library Serves the film, broadcasting and new media industries as well as staff and students of the Australian Film Television and Radio School. The facilities and resources are open to the public
- Australian screen Operated by national audiovisual archive, collecting, preserving and sharing the nation’s moving image and recorded sound heritage. Includes information about and excerpts from a wide selection of Australian feature films, documentaries, television programs, newsreels, short films, animations, and home-movies produced over the last 100 years.
Websites
- Screen Australia Screen Australia supports the development, production, promotion and distribution of Australian narrative (drama) and documentary screen content. The agency invests directly in Australian television, film and digital original titles, and administers the Producer Offset tax incentive for Australian screen stories.
- ScreenHub News, jobs & reviews service for film, television & multimedia professionals
Resource types
Books
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Journal Articles
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Multimedia
Depending on your course, major or specialty, this could include creative works (e.g. films, music, audio tracks) or non-creative works (e.g. news broadcasts, online tutorials, animations or visualisations).
Magazines
Many industries produce magazines that contain articles with insights and discussions of specific industry trends & developments, or showcase new works or innovations from people working in the industry. They can be found online or in print, and can be used to find information about an industry.
Related Guides
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.