Study Guides: Media Arts &amp; Production: Finding Films &amp; Scripts

The library has a number of script databases available in our collection. The two below are the most recommended.

Simply Scripts Simply Scripts is a free website, and contains non American film scripts, as well as TV and anime scripts, and also treatments.
American film scripts online Comprehensive collection of American movie scripts.

You can find academic sources on film in the library collection. These include sources from an artistic and technical standpoint.

The below databases are good places to search for film specific scholarly information.

ProQuest. Research library Mixture of news, magazines, trade journals and scholarly content but you can restrict your search to see only the types of literature you prefer.
EBSCOhost We recommend you select 'Ebsco Research Databases' once you connect and then choosing 'Academic Search Complete' and 'Communication and Mass Media Complete' from the list. Its size and features are very similar to Proquest, but it might be ever so slightly smaller.
Sage Journals Online Electronic access to approximately 480 peer-reviewed full-text journals published by Sage Publications.
Film Index International This resource is like IMDB in that it provides information on movies and the filmmakers, authors and technical staff who made them, but it also has a list of articles and reviews written about every movie contained in the database.

Books are a great source to familiarise yourself with filmaking techniques.

To find books use the Library Catalogue. The video will show you how to search the Library Catalogue.

You can also use the links below to access Film books we hold in our collection.

Tip: Search the library collection for books using words that describe the technique you are looking for.

Documentary filmaking A library catalogue search for books on documentary filmaking
Film lighting A library catalogue search for books on film lighting
Film Editing A library catalogue search for books on film editing

Find local and foreign films in the databases below.

AFTRS - Student Projects Australian Film Television and Radio School streams all its student work for free via its catalogue? Just use the drop down search option to select 'AFTRS Student Projects' before searching.
Informit EduTV Records television in Australia, both public and pay tv (with some exceptions). If something has been shown on Australian television in the last 10 or so years it should be findable here.
Kanopy Is a great source of documentary films and some feature film content. Strong in Australian content too.

Media Arts & Production: Finding Films & Scripts