Welcome!
This guide was created to help students of interior architecture find the information they need for their studies.
In this guide you will:
- Find key resources for interior architecture, including building plans
- Plan a search to find information for a sample assignment question
- Find referencing resources
Use the menu on the right of screen to navigate to the page you need.
Key resources for Interior Architecture
Literature
- ProQuest Proquest is a multidisciplinary database that is great for topics on architecture, interior design and art history. It contains books, journals, magazines, theses and news.
- ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is great for journal article content in areas like passive thermal design and green building.
- Taylor and Francis Online Journals Taylor and Francis contains a rich collection of high quality academic writing on architectural theory, as well as technical writing on building and construction.
Images
- WGSN LIfestyle and Interiors Not just an image database WGSN contains magazine style articles covering trends in interior design, furnishings and new materials and technologies.
- ArtStor Contains photographs of buildings, furnishings and some building plans, as well as art and design objects going back to prehistory.
- Birkhauser Building Types Online Birkhauser Building Types Online contains specs, info, images and plans for thousands of buildings worldwide.
Manuals and Standards
- Acumen Acumen is a professional practice resource for architects. It contains notes on how to operate an architectural practice and run building projects. It also contains the environmental design guide, which provides guidance on how to design to reduce environmental impact.
- National Construction Codes Formerly known as the Building Code of Australia, this website contains Volumes 1 and 2 of the Construction code (covering domestic and industrial buildings), plumbing, drainage codes and more. They are free to access, but you need to register with NCC to view.
- Standards Australia Standards Australia provides access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, as well as draft Standards, ACA technical standards and handbooks. You need to register to be able to download PDFs.
Resource types
Books
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Journal Articles
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Images
Images encompass a wide range of different types, including artwork, photographs, building plans & graphs. Different styles of images include stock images, artefacts, exhibits, infographics and more.
Reports
Often contain specific information about a particular issue, event, industry area, region, trend or market. Most reports are written by or for governments, organisation or industry areas.
Related guides
You might be able to find what you need in one of the related guides below
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.