Welcome
This guide is to help students of landscape architecture find the information they need for their studies.
In this guide you will:
- Find key resources for landscape architecture, including building plans
- Plan a search to find information for a sample assignment question
- Find referencing resources
You can use the menu on the right of screen to navigate to the various pages of this guide.
Key resources for Landscape Architecture
Literature
- ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is great for journal article content in landscape architecture. It contains the Landscape and Urban Planning journal
- Taylor and Francis Online Journals Taylor and Francis contains a rich collection of high quality academic writing on landscape architecture. it contains the Journal of Landscape Architecture
- JSTOR JSTOR contains articles going back to the late 1800's which makes it especially useful for historical research. JSTOR contains the journal Landscape Architecture
Images
- ArtStor Contains photographs of buildings, furnishings and some building plans, as well as art and design objects going back to prehistory.
- Birkhauser Building Types Online Birkhauser contains a page of info, specs, images and plans for thousands of buildings worldwide. It's easy to use and lets you refine your search by building type.
Manuals and Standards
- Acumen Acumen is a professional practice resource for architects. It contains notes on how to operate an architectural practice, run building projects, and how to design and build sustainably
- National Construction Codes Formerly known as the Building Code of Australia, this website contains Volumes 1 and 2 of the Construction code (covering domestic and industrial buildings), plumbing and drainage codes and more. They are free to access, but you need to register with NCC to view.
- Standards Australia Australian Standards provide access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, Draft Standards, ACA technical standards and handbooks. You need to register to be able to download PDF's.
Resource types
Books
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Journal Articles
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Images
Images encompass a wide range of different types, including artwork, photographs, building plans & graphs. Different styles of images include stock images, artefacts, exhibits, infographics and more.
Related guides
You might be able to find what you need in one of the related guides below
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.