Industry reports & statistics for Engineering & IT
- Gartner Gartner is an industry-leading consulting firm providing independent research and analysis on a wide range of Information Technology topics.
- IBIS World Provides a good overview for Australian industries and companies.
- Marketline Advantage Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion.
- Australian Bureau of Statistics The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.
- Statista Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Patents for Engineering & IT
- AusPat (Australian PO) Search Australian patents. IP Australia also provides a paid service for patent analytics reports.
- Patentscope (WIPO) The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.
- esp@cenet Espacenet contains data on more than 120 million patent documents from around the world from 1782 to today.
- USPTO USPTO has the most up-to-date set of US patents and patent applications, published every Tuesday.
- Google Patent Search Google Patents is a search engine from Google that indexes more than 87 million patents and patent applications with full text from 17 patent offices.
Standards & manuals
Standards are official publications used in industry and trade to describe specifications and procedures.
- Standards Australia (Online) Provides the complete collection of current Australian standards.
- IEEE Standards Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Standards available from IEEE Xplore database.
Government & organisation websites
Government and some nonprofit organisation websites can be helpful by providing relevant facts and information on your topic, e.g. industry news and legislation.
- Australian Computer Society is an association for information and communications technology professionals with over 45,000 members Australia-wide.
- Information Technology Professionals Association Information Technology Professionals Association (ITPA) is a not-for-profit organisation established to advance the understanding of ICT matters within the community, corporate and government sectors in Australia.
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) ACM is the world’s largest computing society, brings together computing educators, researchers, and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources, and address the field's challenges.
- Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is a professional association for electronic and electrical engineering (and associated disciplines). IEEE members collaborate on world‐changing technologies, from computing and sustainable energy systems to aerospace, robotics, communication, healthcare, and more.
- Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) The Institution of Engineering and Technology is a professional organisation with over 168,000 members in 150 countries.In the United Kingdom, the IET has the authority to establish professional registration for the titles of Chartered Engineer, Incorporated Engineer, Engineering Technician, and ICT Technician, as a licensed member institution of the Engineering Council.
- Engineers Australia Engineers Australia provides its members with a foundation of history, governance and commitment, and builds benefits for the profession and its practitioners.
Technical reports
- NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) Provides access to US Federal government technical reports in science and technology. It indexes about 2,000,000 reports and currently provides access to PDF copies of some 800,000 reports published since 1995.
- OSTI.GOV Gateway to decades of US Department of Energy technical reports and other publications.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.