Welcome
If you are studying Economics, this guide is for you.
In this guide, you will find:
- Key resources for Economics: books and journal databases
- links to newspaper databases, podcasts and relevant websites
- Company, industry and country information
- Statistics and grey literature resources
- APA referencing resources
Key resources for Economics
Books
- Books on Economics at the UTS LibrarySearch for the keyword 'Economics' in the Library Catalogue to view our general books collection – which includes textbooks. You can try a more specific keyword to narrow down on the topic.
- Encyclopedias Economics encyclopedias from the UTS Library catalogue
- Handbooks Economics handbooks from the UTS Library catalogue
Trade Journals
- The Economist Provides insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them.
- Harvard Business Review (HBR) A leading business magazine covering strategy, leadership, innovation and general finance and economics-related topics.
Academic Journals
- Quarterly Journal of Economics Oldest English language journal in the field of economics.
- Journal of Political Economy Respected academic journal specialising in monetary theory, fiscal policy, labour economics, micro and macroeconomic theory and international trade and finance.
- American Economic Review A general-interest economics journal, one of America's oldest.
- Econometrica A peer-reviewed academic journal of economics, publishing articles in many areas of economics, especially econometrics.
Databases
- ProQuest Business Provides access to articles from business-related academic journals, trade publications and magazines.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Provides full-text access to key business-related publications from around the world including academic journals, magazines and trade publications.
Resource types
Books
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Journal Articles
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Grey Literature
This includes government or non-government organisation (NGO) reports, guidelines and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific region, state, country or worldwide.
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.