Study Guides: Construction Project Management: Home

Welcome

This guide will help construction project management students find the information they need for their studies.

In this guide you will:

Find key resources for construction project management
Plan a search to find information for a sample assignment question
Find referencing resources

Use the menu system on the right to explore the various pages of this guide.

Key resources for Construction Project Management

Literature

ProQuest Proquest contains reports on the construction industry, as well as an excellent collection of books and articles on construction and project management.
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is great for articles on both construction and project management topics.
Taylor and Francis Online Journals Taylor and Francis contains articles on business and building related topics, and is a great complement to Proquest and ScienceDirect for students of construction project management.

Company and Industry

Marketline Advantage This database has construction industry profiles from Australia and overseas as well as some short profiles of construction companies. SWOT and PESTLE analysis available in some instances.
IbisWorld Industry Reports IbisWorld contains industry level overviews. Examples include construction and real estate. Content is great for Australian industries but has some overseas content too.
Statista Contains country reports on consumers and industries.
Orbis Provides background information and financial data on public and private companies worldwide.

Manuals and Standards

National Construction Codes Formerly known as the Building Code of Australia, this website contains Volumes 1 and 2 of the Construction code (covering domestic and industrial buildings), plumbing and drainage codes and more. They are free to access, but you need to register with NCC to view.
Standards Australia Standards Australia provide access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, draft Standards, ACA technical standards and handbooks. You need to register to be able to download PDFs.
British Standards Online UTS Library has full text access to the BSI online: Construction-general standards module only.
Rawlinson's Australia Construction Handbook Australia's largest library of construction cost data for medium to large scale projects.

Resource types

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Reports

Often contain specific information about a particular issue, event, industry area, region, trend or market. Most reports are written by or for governments, organisation or industry areas.

Construction Project Management: Home