Study Guides: Palliative Care: Home

Welcome

This guide will help Palliative Care students locate, evaluate and use information to support their studies.

Key resources for Palliative Care

Databases

Medline (Ovid) One of the largest biomedical databases in the world. Managed by the National Library of Medicine. Medline is a sub-set of PubMed.
PubMed This is a key database used by health professionals around the world to find the latest research. Managed by the National Library of Medicine and is one of the largest health databases in the world. Contains the content in Medline.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
CINAHL (EBSCO) Nursing and Allied Health database.

Websites

CareSearch Palliative care knowledge network. Contains a wealth of evidence on various palliative care topics as well as pre-made palliative care PubMed search filters.

Looking for more databases?

Browse all of the Library’s health databases A link to the Health databases list.

Resource types

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Grey Literature

This includes government or non-government organisation (NGO) reports, guidelines and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific region, state, country or worldwide.

Palliative Care: Home