Open Educational Resources
- Charles Darwin University Open Book Publishing Uses CC-BY-SA licences, qualifying them as OERs. Can be used, edited and remixed as required, but do have the ShareAlike requirement.
- Flickr Commons Photographs in this collection are in the public domain.
- Internet Archive Scholar This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals though the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
- Mason OER Metafinder The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites (e.g, OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.) with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
- MIT OpenCourseWare (YouTube) Free and open online publication of material from many MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum, from introductory to advanced graduate courses.
- OER Commons Wide-ranging OER search engine covering disciplines in all areas.
- OERu Online courses website. Most material is licensed under CC-BY.
- Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) A search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier.
- Open Research Library A global repository and directory of open access content. Not all material is a true OER, but a large amount of it is.
- OpenStax OER Repository featuring courses in business, science and technology.
- Open Textbook Library American focused, but a massive supply of textbooks here with high quality throughout.
- University of Adelaide Press No longer operating, but has a large number of textbooks available. While not all are true OERs, many are available under CC-BY or CC-BY-SA licences.
- USQ Open Textbooks Open textbooks are written and reviewed by university staff in most disciplines globally, and are offered freely in digital form. Open texts can benefit staff and students by supporting enhanced engagement, participations rates, and retention, whilst presenting opportunities for transformative assessment practices linked to professional and industry outcomes. These texts offer freedom to staff by legally permitting reuse, and revision.
Freely available resources
- Australian National University (ANU) eText Publishes books using a NonCommercial NoDerivatives licence. Unsuitable for use outside of traditional student contexts.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Directory of Open Access Journals. 'Open Access' does not mean the same thing as OER, and much of the material here exists within NonCommercial and NoDerivatives licenses. Check the license before using.
- Directory of Open Books Directory of online available books. Some would count as true OERs but most are under more restrictive licences. Check the licence before using.
- La Trobe eBureau Publishes books using a NonCommercial NoDerivatives licence. This makes them unsuitable for use outside of traditional student contexts.
- MIT OpenCourseWare (YouTube) Free and open online publication of material from many MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum, from introductory to advanced graduate courses.
- University of Southern Queensland Open Access Textbooks Publishes almost exclusively under NonCommercial licences, making them unsuitable outside of traditional student contexts.
- University of Sydney Open Library Publishes books using a NonCommercial NoDerivatives licence. This makes them unsuitable for use outside of traditional student contexts.
- UTS ePress Some publications are under OER licences. Most are published under CC-BY-NC-ND licences and therefore are not able to be remixed or used for non-traditional student contexts.
- YouTube: Crash Course An educational YouTube channel covering a wide variety of subjects.
- YouTube: TED-Ed Video and animation-based lessons organised by age/ subjects/ themes.
Library-provided resources
- Anatomy TV Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips to supplement the 3D model.
- Art and architecture in video Films documenting the global ideas, creations, and personalities that shape art and architecture - spanning from Greek and Roman forms to the modern.
- Artstor Searchable database of digital images. Covers many topics, time periods and cultures.
- Henry Stewart Talks: Business & management collection Audiovisual presentations aimed at marketing, advertising, media, health, government and communications managers, specialists and students.
- Informit EduTV Streaming resource of TV programs including current affairs, documentaries, drama, movies and series. Covers all Australian free-to-air and some pay TV channels.
- LinkedIn Learning Online training modules on business, software, technology and creative skills - taught by industry experts.
- TVNews Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks.
Related Guides
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.