Study Guides: Mathematics & Statistics : Home

Welcome

This guide will help Mathematics and Statistics students find the information they need for their studies. This guide will cover:

how to plan your search
finding books, articles and reports
finding datasets
APA 7th referencing

Key resources for Mathematics & Statistics

Reference Materials

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics Reference book of Mathematics.
Encyclopedia of Algorithms The Encyclopedia of Algorithms provides a comprehensive set of solutions to important algorithmic problems for students and researchers, including high-impact solutions from the most recent decade.
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics The 'Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics' presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics. Expert contributors provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in these two areas.
Handbook of Mathematical Formulas and Integrals The Handbook is an essential reference for researchers and students in applied mathematics, engineering, and physics. It provides quick access to important formulas, relations, and methods.
The Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics The Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics presents the essential information about statistical tests, concepts, and analytical methods in language that is accessible to practitioners and students of the vast community using statistics in medicine, engineering, physical science, life science, social science, and business/economics.

Databases

MathSciNet MathSciNet contains over 3 million items and 2 million direct links to original articles in more than 3,000 journals from over 250 publishers.
ProQuest Science & Technology Provides journal articles, conference papers, theses, books, and reports.
Scopus A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers.

You can also view the Library's complete collection of Mathematics and Statistics Databases by clicking the link below:

Mathematics and Statistics Databases

Resource types

There are a range of information types that will be useful to you. Your job is to decide what your information needs are and to find the right information to fill that need.

The table below summarises some of the types of information that will help you, and the following pages in this guide go into further detail on ways to find this information.

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research, especially if you are new to the topic.

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Policies & Reports

This includes government policies, guidelines, industry reports and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific industry, region, state, country or worldwide.

Mathematics & Statistics : Home