Landscape Architecture: Finding Building Plans and Sections

You've been given an assignment where you have to research Centre Pompidou in Paris. As part of the assignment you've been asked to find plans, elevations and sections.

Where can you find these on the web? Click through the gallery to find out!

Slide image by Lachmann-Anke, P., & Lachmann-Anke, M. [@Peggy-Marco]. (2016). [Centre Pompidou] [Stock image], Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/photos/center-pompidou-paris-france-1930712/

Birkhauser

The Library subscribes to one database for building plans, Birkhauser Building Types Online. 

Birkhauser doesn't cover a huge range of buildings, but if you can find your building here you'll see high quality drawings, images and technical specifications, as well as a bibliography for further reading.

Slide image by Renzo Piano & Rogers, R. (n.d.). Ground floor with surroundings [Image]. Birkhauser Building Types Online. https://www.degruyter.com/view/db/bdt

Architectural Websites

Practictioner websites such as Dezeen and Archdaily may also provide architectural drawings for the building you are researching.

Some other prominent architecture websites are:

• Landzine
• Landscape Architecture Magazine
• Divisare
• Designboom

Slide image from Perez, A. (2010). Architecture classics: Centre Georges Pompidou / Renzo Piano Building Workshop + Richard Rogers. Archdaily. https://www.archdaily.com/64028/ad-classics-centre-georges-pompidou-renzo-piano-richard-rogers

Tips when Googling

• When Googling, just be sure you have the right building. There is a Centre Pompidou Metz and a Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris, for instance.
• Try to use building plan images from the architect's own website where available
• When referencing, follow images found on Google Images and Pinterest back to their original source. 
• To supplement your drawings with academic discussion, use the Library's book and journal collections.

Slide image from Google Image Search (2020).

You've been given an assignment to find architectural drawings of The Gherkin in London.

Can journal articles provide you with the drawings you need?  Click through the gallery below to find out!

Slide image from Pexels [@Pexels]. 2016. [The Gherkin in skyline] [Stock image]. Pixabay. https://pixabay.com/photos/building-skyscraper-architecture-1835738/

The Avery Index

Step 1: Look up the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals in the catalogue

The Avery Index is useful because you can specify architectural drawings in your search. One of its disadvantages is that there's very little full-text, which means you have to do some detective work to get the full-text of the articles you find there. 

Click through the rest of the gallery to learn how:

Step 2: In the Avery Index use the Advanced Search option.

When you use Advanced Search you can specify drawings such as axonometric, plans, sections, and elevations. Advanced search lives just above the search pane on the landing screen.

Step 3: Use the Document Feature box within Advanced Search to select the drawing types you want to see. 

Step 4: Enter the name of the building you'd like to search for in one of the search boxes. You can also enter the name of the architect if you want.

Tips

• Some buildings have more than one name. For example, the Gherkin in London is also called "30 St Mary Axe" and "Swiss Re". If you have two names for a building, search for their names surrounded by double quotes and with OR written between them, like in the picture above.

Step 5: Browse the results and search for full-text

Don't be surprised if you don't find any full-text PDFs in your search. If you don't see any PDFs beneath an article there should be a link saying 'Find it' instead.

Clicking on 'Find It' should open a page in the Library catalogue (see next slide).

Step 6: If full-text is available, follow the link!

Step 7:  If you see a link saying 'Get it for me from other libraries'

If you see this it means the Library doesn't have access to the full text in our collection. However, you can still seek out the article via Interlibrary Loan. 

Look for an icon saying 'Get a Digital Copy'. This will source your article (where available) from another library and we will email it to you.

Step 8: If 'FInd It' refers you to a Library book..

It's also possible that 'Find It' will refer you to a book in the Library collection. Architecture books are mostly found on level 9. If your book is listed as being in Reserve then it will be on level 7. Reserve items can only be borrowed for 3 hours. 

You've got an assignment on the Seagram Building. Can you use books to find architectural drawings?

Click through the slideshow to learn more..

Slide image Stoller, E. 1958. Seagram Building interior, corner office [Photograph]. ArtStor. https://www.artstor.org/

Step 1: Search the Library Catalogue

When using the LIbrary catalogue, start by searching for the name of the project or building. If successful, you'll see a catalogue page like the one above. 

Our architecture books are mostly print. If you see a page with call numbers (eg: 725.2 MIES in the picture above) use those numbers to locate the book on the Library shelves. Architecture books (720-729) are found on level 9 of the Library. 

If you don't find a book using the catalogue, click forward to the next slide in the gallery.

Step 2: Try Proquest Ebooks

Proquest Ebooks has a good collection of books on architectural topics. You can search for a building within the book, and Proquest Ebooks will show you all the pages that mention it.

Step 3: Try Google Books.

If the Google book preview allows access and you can see the plans, then lucky you! If not, try the website or journal gallery and see if you fare better there. 

Slide image from Google Books search, 2020.