Welcome
This guide will help International Studies students develop the core skills needed to find and evaluate information supporting their studies.
You will:
- learn to plan your searches and use the Library's search system
- know how to reference properly for all your assignments
- find relevant resources including Grey Literature, Foreign Languages collection and resources supporting In-Country Study
Tip: Use the menu on the right-hand side to navigate throughout this guide.
Key resources
-
Research Library (ProQuest) A global perspective research database for scholarly journal articles and other sources.
-
ProQuest A big multi-subject global perspective database for scholarly journal articles and other sources.
-
Factiva Provides access to 8,000 sources from around the world including newspapers and business and trade publications.
-
The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources An Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in many international and global studies topics.
Resource types
Books
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Journal Articles
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Grey Literature
This includes government or non-government organisation (NGO) reports, guidelines and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific region, state, country or worldwide.
Related Guides
Need more help?
Contact Us
-
Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library -
By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.