Welcome
This guide will help Education students develop the core skills needed to find and evaluate information supporting their studies.
You will:
- learn to plan your searches and use the Library's search system
- know how to reference correctly for all your assignments
- find relevant educational resources including Grey Literature, Curriculum Collection, LANTITE Resources and Teacher Education Resources
Tip: Use the menu on the right-hand side to navigate throughout this guide.
Key education databases
- Education Database (ProQuest) The best global perspective educational database for scholarly journal articles and other sources.
- A+ Education A database focuses on Australian education research.
- Education research complete A collection of education journals. It also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- ProQuest A big multi-subject global perspective database for scholarly journal articles and other sources.
Resource types
Books
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Journal Articles
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Grey Literature
This includes government or non-government organisation (NGO) reports, guidelines and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific region, state, country or worldwide.
Related Guides
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.