Skip to Main Content

Education: Grey Literature

This guide contains resources and guidance to help students studying education subjects.

What is grey literature? And why use it?

 

Grey literature is material not controlled by commercial publishers. It is produced by governments, academics, business and industry. Grey literature is often a great source of high-quality information. Examples include reports, conference papers, guidelines, theses, maps and statistics and more.

Grey literature is often the most up-to-date source of information on recent research and a great source of raw data and statistics.

Grey literature websites for Education

 

Below are a few places where you can find education-related grey literature.

Types of grey literature

 
Government Documents Newsletters Data sets
Theses and Dissertations Conference proceedings Lectures
Blogs and Social Media Videos Research proposals
Company/Industry reports Policy statements Emails
Geological and Geophysical surveys Fact sheets Patents and Standards

How to find grey literature?

 

Grey literature can be tricky to find. To save time and search effectively, we recommended you plan your search.

Steps:

  1. Decide what type of grey literature you need
  2. Choose the best place to search
  3. Search for the main concepts as keywords

Google advanced search

 

Google's Advanced Search makes it easy to find grey literature.

For example, we want to find Australian government reports on volunteers in the palliative care sector

Steps:

  1. Type the keywords palliative care and volunteers into the search bar
  2. In site or domain, type in .gov.au (this limits results to only Australian Government sources)
  3. Under file type, choose PDF (most reports by governments and organisations are PDF)
  4. Then select search

icon

TIP: If you don't find what you want in Google try another option such as specialised databases.

Additional Google Searching Tips

In the site or domain field, you can also narrow your results to:

  • .org for organisation sources
  • .edu for educational sources

By putting .au after the site or domain (e.g. .edu.au) your search will only return Australian educational sources.

Grey literature sources

In the UTS Library Catalogue you can narrow your search results to grey literature sources (such as dissertations, patents, etc.) by using the refining tool on the left under Resource Type. 

UTS Collection - Resource Type

The Library subscribes to many databases which contain different types of grey literature. In the UTS Library Collection, and most databases, you can limit your search to grey literature by refining your search by ‘publication’, ‘source type’, or ‘document type’.

Suggested grey literature databases:

Specialised sources, such as Open Grey, BASE, or PANDORA: Australian Web Archive, list grey literature in a number of subject areas.

Trove is an overarching search interface to search the content of most Australian libraries as well as archives and repositories.

Institutional repositories, such as OPUS at UTS, hold digital theses written by PhD, Masters and Honours students at UTS. You can find links to all the other Australian University repositories via the Australasian Open Access Repositories.