Case Citators are law databases that help you find:
Case Citators may also refer you to journal articles about a case, and other related secondary materials such as encyclopedia entries.
You might be asking, "why do I need to know how to search three citators? Can't you just show me how to search the best one?"
The answer is that these three citators have their strengths and weaknesses. To do a comprehensive search for Australian cases you need to know how to search all three of them.
Lexis Advance Pacific is a database that covers a wide range of legal resources. CaseBase is the case citator accessed through Lexis Advance Pacific.
CaseBase provides citation information and full text reports for many Australian and overseas cases, as well as links to journal articles and other secondary materials.
Watch this video to find out how you can search Lexis Advance Pacific (CaseBase) to find cases:
Westlaw AU is another popular database to find legal resources. KeyCite is the case citator accessed through Westlaw AU.
KeyCite provides case citation information, and summaries of important cases and helps to find similar and related cases. A notable feature of KeyCite is the Key Number System, where all case material is grouped into a detailed classification scheme that allows easy browsing for cases in the same category.
Watch the videos linked below for further details on using Westlaw.
AustLII is a free website for Australian legal resources. LawCite is the case citator accessed through AustLII.
LawCite contains indexed cases and journal articles. Notably, it has links to medium neutral case reports for all higher courts and some lower courts. It also provides full-text access to many Australian Law Review articles and Australian Law Reform Commission Reports.
Now that you have found your case report in Lexis Advance Pacific (CaseBase), this video will explain how to locate useful information about it:
Now that you have found your case report in AustLII (LawCite), this video will explain how to locate useful information about it:
Not all the information you get from a search will be useful.
If your results are not relevant, try reviewing your search strategy by asking the following questions: